MUM I’M PROUD OF YOU #Madblogawards

1 Oct

It was a cold rainy day, sat in the nail shop I asked myself “Do I feel up to this?” I wasn’t referring to my nails but what lay ahead after that! I needed to rush back home, shower, do hair and makeup before finally squeezing myself into my magic underwear and somehow wiggling my legs into my tights without laddering them with what was soon to be my new nails! Then there was the dress, the one I’d only just brought following a disaster with the last (disaster being the sudden realisation that it made me look like a beach whale). This one was short, I hadn’t done short in I don’t know how long! Even with tights I was already feeling a tad self-conscious and I didn’t even have the thing on yet.

I needed to get my party head on and fast. Don’t get me wrong its not that I wasn’t looking forward to the Mad Blog Awards, I really was! I was just a little drained and maybe feeling a little sorry for myself.

Nails done I’m now stood at the bus stop. Time is ticking by and I seriously need to get my butt in gear! Having waited 15 minutes for my bus to come along, it stops, the driver looks at me but doesn’t open the doors… He then proceeds to just drive off like I’m not even stood there in the rain like a prat. Two seconds later what happens, yeah along comes a double-decker bus. Not my double-decker ‘I’m waiting on one of those single decker buses that drive all round the houses making what should be a five minute Journey a 30 minute one instead! This double-decker is racing up the road, his in a rush like me, I could do with this guy driving my bus. Then something crap happened… Splash… FFS, I know resembled a drowned rat! As I stand like a wet lemon, I hear the giggles of the over excitable teens stood behind me. I tell myself he didn’t do it on purpose… But really deep down I knew he did! Could things really get any worse?

Once home and finally done up like a girl with a place to be, I receive a phone call just as I’m about to leave through the front door. As I’m stood explaining my rubbish day to my friend who’s called to wish me luck for the awards, I suddenly realise I’ve missed my train. “It’s a sign, I’m not meant to go” I moan. But being reminded things could only get better I loaded my 5 inch shoes in my bag at speed then slipped on my comfortable flats. I then ran for it, over the road, through the park to the station while continuously yanking down my dress in a desperate bid not to flash my magic granny knickers in the process.

Thankfully I didn’t get lost and as I stopped on the street corner to slip on my heels It suddenly hit me that by doing what I was doing where I was doing it, dressed as I was, one may mistake me as a lady of the night. Walking at speed (and not very well may I add) I escaped into the comfort of the Rassiden Edwardian Hotel the venue of this years Mad Blog Awards.

Hot, messy and out of breath I arrived just in time. My fellow finalist were just about to take there places at the table. Having quickly adjusted the magic knickers, reapplied the lippy and made myself that bit more presentable in the toilets, I then took my place at table number 2 which was filled with some very talented ladies with a great view of the stage.

Was I nervous? No, not up in till now I wasn’t! I really hadn’t the time to be! I just remember feeling relieved to have finally made it. I felt as if My mood was instantly lifted by the wonderful company I had around me. I was sat next to the lovely and talented Luschka (Diary of a first child) as well as the lovely Jen from Mum in the mad in the madhouse , Mika from All baby advice, Kate (WitWitWoo) and a few others (all equally as lovely). The atmosphere was wonderful and all finalist were in high spirits.

20121001-062447.jpg

20121001-062546.jpg

The room looked amazing and it was obvious how much hard work the lovely Sally Whittle, Jen Walshaw and others from the mads had put into making this an event to remember. Everything had been perfectly personalised around each and every blogger in the room. Two large LCDs showed pictures of us bloggers and our families. In between each slide, live tweets were shown (and as the wine flowed the spelling mistakes grew). Even the tables were decorated with confetti made from tiny snippets of our blog headers.

Despite each category having its own sponsor we wasn’t bombarded with advertisements! The awards were very much a social event that did an amazing job to celebrate the brilliance that are parent bloggers. How awesome is that!

20121001-062254.jpg

The 3 course meal was of course Devine… The dessert however was in a league of it own…. Amazing. The wine was flowing around the table and for a woman who drinks little (maybe the odd glass of white every now and then) I did really managed to put some away. I was feeling a little giggly and I did almost use the men’s toilets by mistake (the greeting of a man leaving the cubical was a good indication that I was in the wrong place). But luckily I wasn’t to merry as I was about to receive a little shock when my name was called out and I was announced as the winning blogger of the mads most inspiring blogger for 2012.

20121001-061742.jpgA Meal fit for a finalist and I cleaned the plates

What I’m about to say may make you roll your eyes while muttering the words, “they all say that” but honestly, it was a shock! I really didn’t think I’d win. I was up against some of the best blogs in the blogosphere and the fact I’m subscribed to a few of these blogs meaning every new post they publish gets ping to my inbox just made me doubt myself even more so. Honestly who wants to be up against the much loved mammywoo or the very talented but equally as lovely Wendy from Savette Gazette? Yep …. I rest my case.

20121001-062635.jpgYay the award

You may roll your eyes once more when I tell you I wasn’t pimping my blog 24/7! I made a video that I attached to a blog post. This didn’t have an excessive amount of hits! I also sent out some tweets… I honestly only sent a small amount this year. Of course I sent out a few shouts on my Facebook page, but again this was just a few. What made me laugh this year was how members of the page had replied to say they had already voted for me. Knowing you have such a supportive readership is heartwarming. I guess the only other thing I did was appear in the local paper, just as I had the previous year. I didn’t want to become a spammer, end up driving my readers and followers nuts. My point is that winning without super pimping is possible and this left me feeling proud of myself, shocked but very proud.

As I stood up to collect my award I suddenly thought “Shit… What am I going to say?” I can speak to whole rooms of people in an advocate, teacher-like fashion. When it comes to advising you on education law or the latest autism campaigns its programmed into me… It’s what I do! But accepting an award is different and just like last year I felt a bit of a tit with nothing to say. With white wine in the blood stream giving me a needed kick up the backside I thanked everybody and stated that if it wasn’t for my readers I wouldn’t be able to raise such awareness for autism! With that I did a runner with my award and a lovely bottle of bubbles presented to me by the lovely sponsor for crazy soap.

Back at my table, sat back down I watched some more fabulous bloggers go up and collect their awards I felt so honoured to be part of it all.

My 2012 Mads highlights: speaking to my little man on the phone…

LM: “Mum I saw it on twitter, you won”
Me: “I know, great isn’t it”
LM: “I’m proud of you mum”
Me “You are?”
LM “You inspire people mum, you inspire me”
Me: “That’s a really lovely thing to say, thank you!”
LM “I have water in my eyes as I’m happy you won”
Me: “I have water in my eyes too, because you do”

When we have this type of conversation it’s magical, rare but magical. He really was happy I’d won! He took the award and polished it and put it next to last years on my dresser. He is now blogging himself… Maybe he will one day collect his very own award to add to the collection.

20121001-061917.jpg

Other highlights:

Kerry Aka Multiple Mummy getting the recognition she deserves for her amazing blogs. And the emotional speech from Emma and multiple dad when collecting her awards. And as Emma states… One is actually half hers 🙂 Emma and Kerry both write Science sparks.

Messaging my dad to tell him Myleene Klass was at the awards… Evil laugh (he kinda fancies the arse off her)!

20121001-062021.jpg

Thank you to Sally… Your an amazing woman. Not forgetting the lovely Jen and others who helped make the awards really enjoyable for all.

My lovely readers, all those who nominated and voted for me… I could t do what I do without you all.

The lovely Crazy Soap for being a lovely sponsor from start to finish. I’m sure my fellow inspiring finalist would agree.

Littlewoods, I may not have wore the dress you sent but you sent it so quickly and even offered to send me another on the actual day of the awards. If I hadn’t found something in time it’s quite likely that you would have saved the day.

My family and friends for supporting me.

And most importantly, my three beautiful children both with and without Aspergers… You all inspire me to write and do what I do. So, mummy sends you a million hugs and kisses from the blog…. I love you.

4 Responses to “MUM I’M PROUD OF YOU #Madblogawards”

  1. Littlesheep (@Littlesheep) October 1, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    Congratulations on your win…

  2. Wendy Hirst (@savvywendy) October 1, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    Thank you for the lovely mention and massive congratulations on your win. I loved how you finished the post x

  3. Mammasaurus October 1, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    Much deserved too!

    It was one of those too-many-people-to-speak-to-everyone events but twas nice to see you, even if mainly from afar. Totally agree on the not being bombarded by logos of sponsors, it was a really lovely night that was obviously well thought out by that love squirrel Miss Whittle x

  4. Carol Ali October 1, 2012 at 6:21 am #

    Richly deserved. We’re ALL proud of you! {{hugs}} XX

Leave a comment