Mad Bloggers Aboard A Luxurious Yacht

13 Sep

Things have been so busy these past few months that I haven’t had the opportunity to tell you all about a fabulous day out I was treated to back in August.

As some may know I won a Mad Blog award back in 2011 for the Most inspiring blog! This year I’m really excited at the fact I’m once more a finalist and will be heading to central London at the end of this month for a lavish awards ceremony.

Due to the fact I’m a finalist in this years awards, I received a lovely invitation from ‘HomeAway‘ sponsors of this years travel category.This invite was an invitation to attend a fabulous day aboard a luxurious yacht…. Yes yacht!


Now, before you ask, I’m not a finalist in the travel category but instead the most inspirational, though I was actually nominated for travel I didn’t quite make the cut.

Of course my reaction to this nomination was one of laughter! I wondered to myself “who ever put me up for that?” You see, travelling is something I don’t do well with three kids in toll, especially when on is on the autism spectrum. Most of our tales of travel, consists of meltdowns and on my part… breakdowns!

So, you maybe wondering why I was invited to board this luxury yacht docked at the beautiful St Katharine’s dock near Tower Bridge? I know I did! Well, turns out that those lovely lot at HomeAway wanted to share the love and given they had acquired an entire yacht for a weekend, they totally wanted to make the most of it! I guess given that there is only 5 finalist per category, it made sense to invite a few more.



I didn’t need asking twice, I actually juggled some plans in-order to ensure my attendance. I only had to look at the images to know this was a not to be missed opportunity. I’m your average mum of three who just doesn’t get invited aboard a luxurious yacht for a barbecue. Would this opportunity arise ever again? Most likely not, that is unless I win the lottery!


I was really pleased that I was allowed to take my youngest Harley. The two older children had plans with their father and I was struggling to find a babysitter.


The day arrived and despite having to get there with a toddler in a pushchair on the crappy London Underground, I was actually early! If you know me then you’ll understand why I had to slip that in! Was I blown away but this dreamy yacht? Hell yes, it was simply stunning.

At first I did worry the toddler would walk about touching things he shouldn’t. At one point I had this terrible vision of him lobbing people’s belongings overboard just to gain the satisfaction of hearing it go plonk (when your child has a thing about throwing everything down the toilet you can’t blame one for thinking it)! Luckily there was no such dramas and if anything I was amazed at how well behaved my little guy was. Harley loved our time aboard the yacht especially all the attention he got given.


It was lovely to meet the HomeAway team and see some of my fellow bloggers and award finalist. Everyone was in high spirits, what with the beautiful weather, a delicious barbecue, strawberry and champers and a steady serving of pimms.

We all sat out on the top deck chatting as the sun went down. I stayed much longer than I had first planned and really felt relaxed and comfortable in everybody’s company.

It was a spectacular day aboard a spectacular yacht and I for one won’t forget it in a hurry.

Thanks to both the Mad Blog Awards and HomeAway for making it happen.


2 Responses to “Mad Bloggers Aboard A Luxurious Yacht”

  1. stephstwogirlsSte September 13, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    Always nice to hear when someone gets a lovely day out! Think youve earned it… Thanks for sharing🙂


  1. 2 Fabulous Saturdays in a row! « Fairy Godsister's Blog - November 17, 2012

    […] Mad Bloggers Aboard A Luxurious Yacht ( […]

Leave a Reply

