Aspergers and Birthdays

13 Sep

Well, it’s that time of year again! Little man is well on his way to becoming 12 and don’t we all know about it!

Now I love my son but what I don’t love is his constant banging on about his birthday… It’s driving me completely insane!

One of the traits of Aspergers Syndrome is that of obsessiveness.The tendency to go on and on about something of interest with no regard to the listener. Little man does this with his ‘special interest’ he also does this in the run up to his birthday! Now, I understand all children have the ability to become over excited about their birthday and most do! But for my little man this starts a little to early. His birthday is on the 1st October and he starts his birthday talk every July like clockwork.

This all starts with the searching and marking of items in the Argos catalogue. As his aged his discovered the beauty of the internet and now searches for his gifts on various different sites. and Amazon are just a few of the places he’ll look.

Over the past 2 months I’ve discovered at least 1 email per day in my inbox from the little man.The subject box always reads the same ‘G’s Birthday List’ I’ve actually had to create a folder just for his spam mail!

There does seem to be one or two differences this year compared to pervious years! He seems to be constantly changing his mind, going from one demand to the next! I seriously cannot keep up! Little man will normally get an idea of what he wants and then stick to it. This indecisive behaviour is something that combined with the constant birthday chatter is completely driving me bonkers!

Little man seems to have little concept of the value of money. Some of his requests have been dam right ludicrous when it comes to the cost. His requested everything from vintage slush puppy machines to real working shop tills. Then there’s the more “normal” requests like a Playstation 3 or a PC. These request are normally fine but money hasn’t been great these past few months and with a few weeks to go I’m hoping to get anything.


I remember when the Little man’s birthday and Christmas list would consists of a lot stranger items than anything of the above. He would ask for batteries, padlocks and even fizzy pop. I’m sure regular readers will already know this from my past posts on the subject.

As for what we are doing for his birthday, I just don’t know! His Aspergers makes surprises a no go and the need for me to get my butt in gear and start pulling a plan together is a must. I’ve been wracking my brains tonight and I’m just not getting that big bulb going off in my head!

So, heres hoping that one goes off very soon, because before you know it, it will be Christmas!

Did you know it was just 14 weeks to go?

2 Responses to “Aspergers and Birthdays”

  1. Gavin Bollard September 14, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    Sounds like a lot of fun. My kids weren’t very materialistic but they’re slowly becoming that way.😦 I think it’s a school influence.

    Have you tried getting LM to hang a piece of paper on his wall containing his list and just update the paper. At least it would stop the emails.

    You could also decide to give him money instead of a present. Then have him look up the costs of each thing on his list until he finds out what is affordable. It might teach him the value of money – and even if it doesn’t at least it will use up some of the time between now and his birthday.

    Good luck.

  2. stephstwogirls September 13, 2012 at 6:45 am #

    Good luck with the party planning – it can be a real nightmare, can’t it?! Trying to get them to decide on one present is vital so they’re not disappointed on the day isn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

