The comment from a child with autism

6 Nov

Have you ever logged onto your blog to be presented with a comment that brings tears to your eyes within a second of reading it? I have!

Writing the blog, ‘A boy with Aspergers’ has not only helped me express myself, giving me a platform to put down my thoughts, share our trails and tribulations, celebrate our achievements as a family, a place to off load both the good and not so good, but it’s so helped me to connect with other families like my own. I have always hoped that other families draw comfort from my words, somehow relate and feel they are not alone! There are many parents of children on the autism spectrum, that have commented one my blog and when they state how the blog or facebook page has helped them somehow, I feel inspired to write more.

But what if its not a parent, teacher, carer or other that comments on your blog, what if its a child, one who is on the autism spectrum, a young teenage girl who within a few simple words manages to share her likes & dislikes, express her lack of happiness with the world she lives in, as well as the things she longs for most as a teenager? She didn’t want the latest mobile phone or a tenner to go see a movie with a friend, no! She wanted something that most of us take for granted, either that or something we don’t fully appreciate. Below you can read the words that I read when opening my blog today, the words of one teenage girl on the autism spectrum…

I am a girl who got Autism. Who can’t really make new friends too hard me make really upset.
I am a girl who really like to handwriting a lot, liking to make the teacher laugh!
I am a girl who like to dance, listen to music, go on a computer or on a laptop.
I am a girl who sometimes repeat her self.
I am a girl who gets wind up all the time.
I am a girl who gets into trouble a lot.
I am a girl who get pick on a lot.
I am a girl who need to make a new friends who i really trust.
I am a girl who is feeling really alone.
I am a girl who always staying in at play times sometimes.
I am a girl who really need to gets help.
I am a girl who really talk anyone.
I am a girl who feels like getting push out of stuff.
I am a girl who always put same things!
I am a girl who really need a new friends who can keep secrets and who I really trust of a best friend.
I am a girl who feels really alone.

Note these words have not been edited in any shape or form & the original comment can be found over on the page “Autism love list” located under the header above.

2 Responses to “The comment from a child with autism”

  1. fraggle November 6, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    this brought tears to my eyes,my autistic son who is nearly five is reaching out to some family members for support love and is being rejected which I find upseting as he finds it hard enough feeling alone.

  2. Zoe Hankey November 6, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    It breaks your heart, not only to know that this girl feels that way & that there isn’t very much you or I can do is help. But to know that is how your own child feels every day.

    It breaks my heart to know that Tom longs for that friendship, that person he can be best friends with. I know that he feels so alone & I wish I could fix it, make things better but I can’t.

    I hope that this girl & Tom & all the other children who feel this way can find their happiness one day soon.

Leave a comment