Our Half Term

1 Nov

The half term hasn’t been to hectic but despite this making me sound a terrible person, I am kind of looking forward to next weeks return to school.

The toddler just becomes a monster with his siblings in the home. Little man is starting to lose his grip on routine and my daughter… Well, she seems to have developed a taste for attitude.

What’s more I just want to get stuff done and its not easy when your needing to break up your children when they are screaming in one another’s face.

Its been a long week…

I’ve also had the pending announcement of the “Uk Smartest Shopper on my mind” its seems like ages since my interview on Saturday and the suspense has been mounting. Nonetheless the children being home has more than kept the mind occupied

The day was great if not nerve wracking and this week Savoo sent me a little reminder of the day.


Little man’s new IEP has been delivered in the post accompanied with a new timetable. This means I’ve had to prepare him for the pending changes such as the new addition to Fridays routine which is swimming. He seems really excited about this though and we are going out tomorrow so he can choose some new swimming trunks.

Last night was Halloween. Little man decided that his heighten senses would not allow for dressing up especially in a latex mask and costume that he reported made him feel fuzzy. This meant I needed to be creative and out came the face-paints. Its strange as little man used to hate the sensation of face-paint but now he loves having his face painted and yesterday I painted it as Saw (not that he knows who saw is but he liked it all the same). This also meant that he was pretty much able to wear whatever he wanted so of course it was comfortable jogging bottoms and a hoody.


Alice, however wore a handmade creation. I love how my little girl likes to be different and having failed at making her a monsters high outfit she instead became this funky Character ….


I love how it turned out. She wore a tutu I made with funky spiderweb material that we got from the pound shop. She teamed with a vintage scarf I picked up from a charity shop and her beloved H&M hat. I also painted her face taking inspiration from a design I saw on pinterest.

Harley the youngest of the three looked adorable dressed as Scooby Doo. This was a fantastic costume that I brought in the sale at Sainsbury’s. well worth the tenner as he can wear it for parties and other occasions. I brought it in a 3-4 years so he will get plenty of wear from it.

Yesterday was also a fun crafting day. We made everything from tissue paper wreaths to spooky batty bats that glow in the dark. Little man has never been much of a crafter but surprisingly gave a couple of the activities a go. He also helped with the decorating afterwards.

This year all except two spooky window lights were homemade.




The toddler and Alice also had great fun making spooky finger puppets for Halloween. These were sent to us from our favourite craft supplier ‘Baker Ross‘.



You can see how we made some of the items by visiting my sister site (mummy of many talents).

So… With Halloween now over and the kids back at school next week I’m planing on catching up with some of the other stuff I’ve got to do like the food shop and ironing… Yer life is a joy isn’t it!

3 Responses to “Our Half Term”

  1. mumofthreeboys November 4, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    Sounds and looks like you have an eventful week with lots of crafts.
    Good luck with the smart shopper🙂 x

  2. clairelouise82 November 1, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Sure is and what a lovely judge she was:) x

  3. Russi November 1, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    Hey it’s “a thrifty mrs” on the photo! Roll on Monday, it has indeed been a long week.

Leave a Reply

