Dear Little Man

31 Aug

Dear Little Man

One day I’ll set you free, you have my word on that. I’m sorry you feel held back…. I never wanted this.

You see, its not that I don’t trust you because honestly I do. It’s them I don’t trust, those in this world can be so crawl, more than I hope you will ever need to know!

I know you feel it’s so not fair when the boy next door you’re age goes everywhere. You think its because you have Asperger’s that I worry and say I’m holding you back,! Maybe you’re right, but only a bit… I just don’t think it’s safe out there.

Your just 11 years old, still so young, so much to learn. I am your mother and it’s my job to keep you safe from others.

You go to the park the local shops too, but to have you go far would be a worry to myself and others.

I hope that one day you’ll see that everything I do, I do it for you, not me!

As the days tick away and the years grow closer, your Independence and awareness will be much much stronger.

Little man… its difficult for me… I just love you and want to keep you safely near me.

So… please dry your tears, because with time you will see, that all that I do is simply because I care so much for you.

Love mum

3 Responses to “Dear Little Man”

  1. Wendy Shaw September 6, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    My heart is in my mouth every time my 13yr old son goes out to play. I can’t keep him indoors, it’s taken years for him to make friends…… who am I to stop him going out to play with them.
    The battles I have with myself I’m sure you can relate to. I have reasoned with my son, taught him road safety & other “dangers” of the world.
    He knows the theory, “yeah, yeah, yeah” I hear him say, but he struggles putting the theory into practice. When I remind him……. “stop over protecting me”, he says…….. “I can’t”, I say, “I love you & want you to be safe”.
    As I’m sure you know, that is the short version, so yes, I empathise! xx

  2. Nicky Stimson (@MrsStim) September 2, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    I am having similar battles with my 9 year old with Aspergers….your words echo my sentiments exactly. x


  1. The Temmy & Venus Appreciation Blog Post ~ by ThisTwitchingGrrrl | The Write Stuff - October 14, 2012

    […] Dear Little Man ( […]

Leave a Reply

