My daughter will be assessed for Dyslexia

5 Jul

Today I had a meeting at my daughters school, I went in thinking I was going to be thrown a load of excuses as to why I wasn’t informed my daughter was on the special educational needs register, but actually things went a little more differently.

You see, all those who have lied to me are no longer employed at the school. The head master whom I had a terrible relationship with due to the discrimination my son received and the SENCO who has lied about both my children’s needs, have left. The new head teacher has been brought in to repair all the damage that has been done and therefore get the school back on track.

I was almost left open mouthed when I realised I wasn’t being feed anymore bull shit. This new head teacher apologised for the fact I wasn’t told stating it was unacceptable. She has looked through my daughters sen file and through some of her work and feels that she should have been assessed for dyslexia!

She has told me she wants to sort this ASAP as to give my daughter the best chance in year 5. Extra help will be provided to enable her to catch up with her reading and writing. We also discussed the possibility of maybe booking her in with an optician to see If coloured lenses could help her read better (it currently takes her a long time to read a book).

I have appointments booked with her class teacher on Monday and the head teacher is writing a letter explaining my daughters SEN, the reasons she is on the register and the help they have been providing her with.

I have put a lot of trust in this school before and been let down badly. However with the new senior staff in place, a temporary SENCO and no sign of anyone who damaged us in the past, I feel that just maybe communication will be better.

I won’t let my guard down, I can’t afford to. I will continue to over document everything, monitor attendance (maybe asking for a weekly breakdown of her attendance for my records) as well as making sure the AWO stays on top of things.

I really want to believe the new head teacher is one that I can fully trust. I have got to a stage where I feel I can not trust anyone and hope that my confidence in the system can slowly be repaired. Surly not all head teachers are bad… Right?

To have someone agree with me that records have not been kept as they should have and as a result I could have actually gone to prison, is a start!

To have an apology is also a step forward.

I don’t know why both the SENCO and Head teacher left suddenly but I am pleased to see the back of them!

I just want my children to go off to school in the mornings and come home smiling. I want a good healthy school home relationship… Just like the one I have with my sons independent special school… Surly it’s not to much to ask, is it?

5 Responses to “My daughter will be assessed for Dyslexia”

  1. Dyslexia test for teenagers August 3, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    To have dyslexia, it doesn’t mean that person will not get success in his/her life. It is true that they have poor learning ability but they can learn but with extra efforts.

  2. Candie Kowalowski July 23, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    Dyslexia is not a debilitating disease but of course it can be annoying. tom cruise is also said to have been dsylexic but he is a successful person. .`”;;

    Enjoy your weekend!“>

  3. amandaspatch July 5, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    I am so glad to read that things are looking a bit better now for you. I cannot believe what you have been through with that school.

    As for the dyslexia review, I hope it helps. It’s good to spot it early. $My sister made it to university before anyone spotted she might have dyslexia (her poor spelling and grammar were put down to her overall ability which made no sense as she was an avid reader and very academically passionate). Then she didn’t receive help until she did her Masters degree… suddenly she started getting the best marks possible which just proves that dyslexia can really hold people back if it’s not spotted and help given. She actually now changes the colour on her computer screen to act like coloured lenses would!

  4. mumofthreeboys July 5, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    I hope everything gets sorted properly soon, it sounds like this HT just may well be
    A little different from the last. Sending big hugs to you and Alice x

  5. Carol Ali July 5, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Well that’s good news! I’m glad all the useless teachers no longer work there. Things are looking more positive for you and your daughter. Lots of luck!

Leave a Reply

