Summer Dreams

3 Jun

Summer dreams… I’m lying on a sun lounger some place hot, the sea or pool ( I really don’t mind which) is a stones throw away. I have a generous Glass of pims in one hand and a good read in the other!

So… Ordinary, wouldn’t you agree?

I used to have summer dreams like that of the one above. But dreams change, they no longer seem like dreams, more like desires that I long to achieve. My dreams are simple in theory but often unreachable in life. Not because they are not possible, they are… If I give it all I have to live them.

Now although a holiday is much needed by all, it’s something that I’m sure will not be happening this summer, so as the days draw on I begin to kick my own backside and remind myself that I have a dream that needs fulfilling, that dream… To have a well plan out and organised summer!

Sounds boring and yes somewhat pathetic, but for me it’s the key to a long and happy summer. Doing things on a whim is a speciality of mine but such a skill is unethical when your a parent to a child with Aspergers Syndrome.

Some days you wouldn’t know my son was on that Autism Spectrum. Like everything some days are more difficult than others.

Little man is currently on half term as is his younger sister ‘Alice-Sara’ (I’m bracing myself for plenty of sibling wars!) Now, although this week will get little man into a bit of a mess with the lack of structure and routine, (Yes, I do try but I can never complete with the structure of school) the summer holidays are for a much lengthier time period, this huge change and the pending anxiety about the coming new school year (new class, teacher, ect…) can mean an explosive 6 weeks.

So, what’s the solution? Well, I wouldn’t call it a solution, but a semi one at least. Organising activities in advance, making little man aware of where and when we’re going, good organisation and structure is the key to his and of course my own sanity.

You would think that I have learned my lesson by now.There’s been plenty of trips and occasions that haven’t been planed as well as they could have been. We’ve had our fair share of meltdowns as a result.

I maybe a mum of a child on the spectrum, but I’m in no means perfect and the whole organisation thing is not my strongest trait.

So… Although the dream of a day spent soaking up the sun’s ray, while relaxing on a beach some place inviting, still exists, it’s in the back of my mine it will stay.

If all is organised and I start booking trips and planing days out now… My summers dream could go something like this…

A day out as a family some place nice, we would laugh and smile, eat a picnic fit for a fussy eater. The children would run around having fun, playing games together… No screaming, arguing… No violent meltdowns, abusive language! There would be no tears, no anxiety, just enjoyment being had by all! And If I could control the weather and public transport I would!

Ok, almost, because life isn’t always so simple, anything can happen! A sensory related trigger, a delayed train or even a wrong turning (getting lost is my little man’s pet hate)! But I will try as by planning and preparing that summers dream will be that much closer to a summers reality!

20120603-125100.jpg

This post was inspired by this weeks Britmums blogging prompts! If you’re a blogger why not check them out and join in.

6 Responses to “Summer Dreams”

  1. clairelouise82 June 3, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Maybe one day hun, we will get our days drinking in the sun.

  2. clairelouise82 June 3, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Thank you and hope yours is lovely too.x

  3. Expat Mammy June 3, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    Hope your summer dream comes true

  4. mumofthreeboys June 3, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    Sounds pretty much like my dreams for the summer, i used to dream of relaxing by a pool with a drink and soaking up the rays in some exotic place but reality hits in and I think ‘relaxing’, never! I’d spend the whole time applying sun cream to the boys and running around after them lol x
    Planning is the key to any day out, my boys get quite upset by surprises so I always inform them of what we will be doing x x
    Hope you get a dream summer x

  5. Violets Diary June 3, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    Planning really helps us with summer too. A couple of years ago when we were all really stressed. Someone suggested aday by day plan with a traffic light system of things that wld definitely happen, things that wld happen but were dependent on other factors eg weather public transport etc & things that we wld like to do. We also made a rule that everyone had to have a choice. Other pple thought I was mad but it really helped

  6. Violets Diary June 3, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    Planning really helps us with summer too. A couple of years ago when we were all really stressed. Someone suggested aday by day plan with a traffic light system of things that wld definitely happen, things that wld happen but were dependent on other factors eg weather public transport etc & things that we wld like to do. We also made a rule that everyone had to have a choice. Other pple thought I was mad but it really helped

Leave a Reply

