Chocolate Cake = Independence

16 May

Little man came home from school today carrying a smile on his face and this very yummy craftsmanship of his.


Now little man is 11 years old and attends a day special school for children with Autism and Aspergers Syndrome, it’s this school who have converted my son into a budding master chef who’s destining for the championships of any cook off.

Now it’s not just the cake his brought home. Over the last school year his brought home an array of taste bud tickling delights.

His gone from baking scones to quiche, curry and more. This whole double chocolate cake has to be one of my favourites… Its dangerously yummy and really does taste as good as it looks


Seriously, I’m no cake baker, I will shamefully admit with head hung low, that my baking skills are not great! Little mans are however far greater and I’m bursting with pride as a result!

But this isn’t just about cooking and baking! No, for children like my Little man it’s much more than this! It’s independence something his special school are teaching very early on to enable the children they teach, a good chance of succeeding in the quest to become a fully fringed independent young adult.

As well as cooking up a storm the children also take weekly trips to the supermarket in order to purchase the essential ingredients for their culinary delights.

As a mother of a child with Asperger’s syndrome I believe that learning the skills to become fully independent is just as important as learning the skills of literacy and mathematics. Most will take it for granted that their children will be fine in the big wide world, this is something I never do.

For this I am extremely grateful to my son’s school for teaching him such a needed skill!

I’m also immensely grateful for them teaching him how to bake such a deliciously, chocolatey, yummy scrummy cake…. Amen!!!


3 Responses to “Chocolate Cake = Independence”

  1. Violets Diary May 18, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    My little man is also an 11yo aspie and he loves to cook – I love cooking and baking and have always encouraged the children. Now he can make stuff like choclote brownies and cakes with very little intervention from me. I think its great – It’s not just about independence. It’s about sense of achievement and confidence, which is so valuable to achieving other things.

  2. thatawkwardkid93 May 16, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    I’ve noticed that less people know how to cook now than years ago. My sisters and I were lucky enough to have grown up in a home where learning to cook new foods is encouraged. Of course, we all have our specialties, but we all know the basics to cooking. I make wonderful baked chicken and vegetables and my little sister makes wonderful fried chicken. My mom can bake the most moist cake you’ll ever eat, but I cannot bake a good cake to save my life. I make sugar cookies like nobody’s business, but my mom couldn’t make sugar cookies to save her life. My mom encourages us t try new things on our own. Of course, this frightens me, but with my mom’s reassurance, I get through it. I’m not at the level yet where I could move out and live on my own, but I’m getting there. Good luck in the journey to independence with the Little Guy.🙂


  3. jackie May 16, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    i also think that cooking gives these children confidence which they lack i wish my son had more changes to cook abd he is not academic but good with his hands i think its unfail in main strem schools the class are not aimed at children who may not be acadmic but may be good at woodwork or cooking

Leave a Reply

