Shabby chic with a modern twist

7 May

I love feature walls & when having a nose around on Pinterest I came across this beauty of a pin.


I instantly fell in love with the stunning feature wall featured in the pin and had visions of it stuck on my daughters bedroom wall.

Just a few days later I was on twitter when I came across a tweet from @toddlerlandeu, they were looking for parent bloggers to review some of there room decals. I volunteered my services and was delighted when Toddlerland invited me to check out their site and select a Decor to review.

Admittedly, I was still lusting after my Pinterest find and anything offered would be hard to match up to this. Well, can you just imagine my delight when discovering that very same Decor featured on their online store.

Alice-Sara like me loves the design as I knew she would, now I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it and get it up on her wall.

However, despite a fast and excellent delivery service it was some time before we could get this up. Firstly we were plastering which turned into a disaster (long story). Then we had a caved in ceiling to deal with. Everything just seemed to be happening one after the other and each problem felt like it took a life time to repair!

Eventually we had the green light and started the project while Alice-Sara was in school.

Roomates decals are removable, they can be repositioned and reused (this was handy as admittedly I made a few bum errors). Nonetheless, these are not in any way difficult to apply. Simply peel the decals from the backing paper then stick to any smooth surface. Seriously it is that simple!

Roomates have a special adhesive which is strong enough to hold and keep the decor stuck to the wall but also delicate enough to allow endless repositioning without damaging any of your paintwork (note, it is advised that newly painted surfaces are left for a period of at least two weeks before applying decals)!

Our chosen design came with instructions which were numbered making the process very visual and therefore easy to follow. have a fantastic range of designs suitable for a vast spectrum of ages and design needs. They even have a glow-in-the-dark Decor range, how cool is that? Great for a sensory room!

I love Roomates Peel and Stick Mega Pack – Scroll Tree, which covered a whole wall in my daughters room with ease. This made it a sophisticated yet fun focal point to the room. Alice-Sara doesn’t have the largest bedroom out the three in the house but she certainly does have the coolest feature wall!



The scroll tree design is really very pretty, what with it’s curly brunches and pretty flowers, it really is quite stunning. The birds give it a funky edge and the owls really are quite cute!




We are still not 100% finished on the whole make over front, we’re aiming for pretty shabby chic with a modern twist.

The Scroll Tree Decor has definitely contributed to creating this, it’s beautiful!

Roomates Peel and Stick Mega Pack Scroll Tree Decor is priced at €44.99 which is totally reasonable for what you get.

You can check out the Scroll Tree and many more designs over on the online store.

This is a review post. All opinions are honest and that of my own. I was not paid to write this review but was sent a sample of the product in order to share my opinions.


2 Responses to “Shabby chic with a modern twist”

  1. Jen June 1, 2014 at 9:11 am #

    These are so pretty! We have a little one on the way and they would be perfect for his/her little room (we still don’t know which!) I’m always a bit worried about doing anything to the walls in the kids’ rooms as they grow up so quickly but decals are such a good idea.

  2. Hazel Christopher (@hlac1) May 8, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    I love wall decals, I have a gorgeous teal and chocolate vine in my living room with butterflys – I think they make so much more of a feature than your regular feature wall and absolutely everyone has commented on it. I totally love the one you have here though, I’m really going to have a good look now for something for my sons bedroom.

Leave a Reply

