#HAWMC DAY 24 – An Angel By My Side

26 Apr

The 24th challenge in the “Health Activist Writers Month Challenge” (HAWMC?) was to create a health mascot for our health focus! I found this a bit of a strange one, but hey this is a challenge so who am I to argue?

I guess I’m therefore going to have to come up with something and considering that this blogs main focus is about parenting a child on the autism spectrum, this is what my health mascot must represent! Nonetheless, as I write this I have no clear indication where this is heading or what my health mascot even looks like (despite thinking about it the entire day)!

Long Pause…. Seriously it’s been 30 minutes or more and I’m only just about ready to write the next paragraph. 

OK, so after lots of pondering I’ve decided to go with something quite mystical and beautiful that for many represents a number of different things… An Angel! Now I almost decided upon the Archangel Michael, an advocate, defender & protector. He is said to have fought many battles and I guess that’s something us parents of autistic children do too. However, I am not an overly religious person and Michael has been portrayed  in an array of different ways within an array of religions.

Guido Reni's archangel Michael (in the Capuchi...

Guido Reni's archangel Michael (in the Capuchin church of Santa Maria della Concezione, Rome) tramples Satan (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This for me isn’t about a religious figure but one of strength and power, a mascot for my health focus would need this and more besides.

I’ve always had a bit of a thing for Angels and this often comes out in my artwork, so regardless of my decision not to go with Michael, my mascot would still be an angel, only one I have created from the inner depths of my overactive imagination!

Many people feel that Angels are something of messengers, which is exactly what my Angel would need to be. As a mascot for autism and aspergers my angel would do the work needed to raise awareness and combat the crawl ignorance that surrounds these conditions by delivering the message of awareness. 

My angel would shine a light on those that failed to understand, wrapping them in his wings he would open their minds to a greater understanding. 

My angel would bring justice and fairness, ending the discriminating ways of those we have been made to put our trust in. My angel would promote equal opportunities for all, regardless of disability.

My angel would see that our children received the education they are entitled to, that they were pushed to their limits in-order to achieve their dreams.

My angel would not change those with the condition, he’d change those without. My angel would open their eyes and therefore open their minds to the world we currently live in.

My angels spirit would seek to protect the most valuable children whatever their diagnosis and protect them he’d do well! 

Artwork created by me

Post 24/30 in the wego health #HAWMC

3 Responses to “#HAWMC DAY 24 – An Angel By My Side”

  1. Susan Mann (@susankmann) April 27, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    What a beautiful post about a series subject, but beautiful x

  2. Parenting April 27, 2012 at 5:52 am #

    Like all aspergers things, there’s not really a cure however self-respect goes a long way towards prevention.


  3. Christopher C. Randolph April 27, 2012 at 12:53 am #

    May god be with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

