#HAWMC DAY 16 – The brilliance of Pinterest

16 Apr

I have to admit that when reading today’s #HAWMC writing prompt, I smiled a big fat cheesy grin.

The prompt was to create a pinterest board surrounding your health focus and then pin three things and share them here within this post.

There was no need for me to run off and try to open a pinterest account, I already have one and yes… Like many I’m already a bit of a “Pin Head”

Of course, having been actively using and engaging in Pinterest related activities, I had already created such a board (one surrounding my heath focus).

The board is titled, “Autism and Sen” its one of a hand full of boards I have surrounding autism and sen related issues.

This actual board focus a lot around creativity, supplying its followers with ideas that could help make life a tad simpler (visual prompts) as well as lots of ideas for sensory play, ones designed to help your child’s senses develop or give them that sensory seeking pleasure they crave!

Unsurprisingly, I also didn’t feel the need to zoom of and start pinning, the boards adequately filled and continues to grow most days. I did however actually find it quite difficult to decide which three pins I wanted to share, so of course I broke the rules a little and have shared a few more for good measure (sometimes rules are there to be broken)!

My first pin I’d like to share is this awesome visual chore chart which I thought would be a great resource for parents trying to encourage children on the autism spectrum engage in household chores or even as a prop to help teach independence skills. The original content came via the blog moneysavingmom.com.

I love this next pin that links to the blog growingajeweledrose.blogspot.com where some fabulous ideas can be found for sensory fun. This particular image is home-made glowing bath paint. I have tried this and it works🙂 If your child, like mine is tactile defensive and isn’t to keen on the bath tub, this could be the thing to help.

Staying on the issue of sensory processing and that of tactile defensiveness, this next pin demonstrates a great way to encourage your child to experience and recognise different textures therefore learning to tolerate them. The home-made tactile board below is also great for the sensory seek who just has to seek out different textures. The pin shows a really effect and cheap way to combat such issues (tactile boards that of shop brought are often very expensive products). The pins original content is from the awesome blog makeadoandfriend.blogspot.com.

As mentioned I couldn’t stop at just three, so, here’s a few more…

This pin is from handsonaswegrow.com and demonstrates the beauty in sensory play. Dish or shaving foam is both a cheap and effective play idea for the child who sensory seeks.

Lastly I had to share this pin that displays a badge displaying a quote many of us can relate too…

Pin from hugsnstitches4u.com

You can find my Autism and Sen board along with some other fab boards, over on my Pinterest  just click HEREFollow Me on Pinterest

This is post 16/30  of the Wego Health #HAWMC

4 Responses to “#HAWMC DAY 16 – The brilliance of Pinterest”

  1. homesicklocal April 17, 2012 at 5:04 am #

    Cool post – love the visible chore chart. Man I need that for all my kids. I also like the last picture. 🙂


  1. #HAWMC DAY 18 – Inspiration « A boy with Asperger's - April 23, 2012

    […] #HAWMC DAY 16 – The brilliance of Pinterest (aspergersinfo.wordpress.com) Share this:FacebookRedditStumbleUponDiggEmailTwitterLinkedInTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. dear 16 year old self: #hawmc | Phylor's Blog - April 17, 2012

    […] #HAWMC DAY 16 – The brilliance of Pinterest (aspergersinfo.wordpress.com) […]

  3. perfect day: late posting for hawmc 2012 | Phylor's Blog - April 16, 2012

    […] #HAWMC DAY 16 – The brilliance of Pinterest (aspergersinfo.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

