#HAWMC DAY 15 – Writing Style

16 Apr

We all have one, our very own unique writing style.

Its something I believe we all acquire regardless of how or where we were educated.

I remember my literacy lessons at school quite well. It was always a subject I loathed and as mentioned before, if you asked me back then if I would every engage in writing as a hobby, literally do it purely because I enjoyed it, you can be sure I’d answered with the term NO WAY!

Regardless of the above, I guess I was never really bad at it (though grammar wasn’t my strongest point and still isn’t). I much preferred art and drama but on the whole secondary school wasn’t one of my favourite of places and I therefore regrettably skipped a reasonable chunk of it.

Now, I’m passionate about writing, its something I engage in daily whether blogging or just scribbling in my diary.

Looking at my writing style I’ve established that I’m quite versatile depending on what I’m writing about, where it’s going, its intended audience (if any) and of course my current mood are all factors that contribute.

Regardless of my love for my Mac Book, I’m a person who still loves to use good old fashion pen and paper. Many of my published post (and many an unpublished post) can be found drafted in one of my many note books.

I feel my best posts are those that have been written on the spur of the moment! This quite often happens at times I feel the need to vent or just declutter my mind a little. Its times such as these I feel I do less thinking more writing! It just seems to flow and when it does it normally results in some pretty good material.

I guess my writing style is one of honesty and emotion with little touches of humour here and there! My personal opinions are stated open and honestly, I let my emotions do the typing, I say how I feel normally leaving little back! Laying it out there for the world to see can be a risky way to write but it works for me!

As for humour, I guess many don’t expect to find it on a blog where a mother writes about parenting a child with Aspergers Syndrome. However, those that parent a child like mine will completely relate to some of the funny situations I sometimes find us in. Other times I find myself adding the odd bit of humour to a potentially  depressing or difficulty situation I’m writing about! This sometimes comes out unintentionally and in many formats. I guess it’s just that common scenario of, “If I don’t laugh I’ll cry!

Will you find any bad language on my blog? Does my writing style consist of profanities? I try to keep it as clean as possible and I don’t write a post full of bad language! However, you may occasionally find the odd swear word has somehow wiggled its way in there! Again this is life and sometimes life can be a tad shit… Oops :0

So, have you ever sat beck and asked yourself what’s you’re writing style?

Post 15/30 as part of the Wego Health #HAWMC

One Response to “#HAWMC DAY 15 – Writing Style”


  1. perfect day: late posting for hawmc 2012 | Phylor's Blog - April 16, 2012

    […] #HAWMC DAY 15 – Writing Style (aspergersinfo.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

