Why I won’t be sharing my new years resolutions with you!

29 Dec

It’s the 28th December 2011 & in just a few short days we will be at the start of a brand new year!

 Now I’m not about to share all my New Years resolutions  (not that I don’t have any)! Why? Because if there is one thing I’ve learnt over the years, it’s that life is full of unexpected twists and turns, especially when you are a parent of three children, one on the autism spectrum. Do I set myself goals that are hard to achieve? Yes, I properly do, don’t we all? In all honesty, I’d rather kick my own arse privately if I happen to fail on one two of those resolutions.

 I hate reading articles that proceed to tell you what you should be doing! They run off a long list of suggested resolutions one may wish to make. It’s my opinion that new years resolutions don’t spring out from a two page spread, but instead from the gut of the person making them! Resolutions are personal goals you set yourself, which haven’t been decided on lightly, you have to really want to succeed at achieving them, they hold great meaning and would provide the setter great satisfaction if achieved.

 Sadly every single article I’ve read on the subject, whether this is a blog post, parenting website or big name magazine, they all suggest the same old thing! Look at and change the way you eat, quit smoking, lead a healthier lifestyle… Blah- Blah-Bloody-Blah…

 I’m not by no means stating that I’m not going to be working that bit harder to fit comfortably in my skinnies, I’m just stating that surly it’s not always about this, it often stems that little bit deeper than this! Loving yourself that little bit more and gaining confidence should always be the first step.

 Though I have indeed decided to keep my resolutions to oneself (call me a chicken, I don’t care)! I have however decided to share some of my blogging goals for the year of 2012, so if failed we can all laugh together as to be honest failures sometimes make us more eager to succeed and the next time we try, we do it that bit better!

So… here’s a few of those 2012 blogging goals

Relax and enjoy it that bit more, worry less about stats and positions on whatever listings (Top this or Top that) as like many I am a little guilty of doing this.

 Reach out and hopefully provide some hope and support for more families on the autism spectrum, more than I’m already reaching!

 Finish my SEN Know how page, it’s important to me to get this done, I set myself a goal to finish it with the end result being, a number of downloadable fact sheets covering a whole spectrum of subjects relating to special educational needs.

 Expand my love of photography, hopefully expressing myself a bit more through pictures as well as words.

 Create a set of social stories that will be available via the blog.

 Launch my sister blog, which I’ve been working on yet remains unpublished.

 I’ve already done a few video reviews, though I want to expand on this and really get into “Vlogging

 My biggest goal… Use the power of social media and blogging to help charities such as the NAS! I have a fabulous and fun idea in the pipe line that I can’t wait to get out there! I really do hope that the support of fellow mummy bloggers and some fantastic contacts I’ve made over the past 3 years I’ve been blogging can help make this one a reality.

5 Responses to “Why I won’t be sharing my new years resolutions with you!”

  1. LoveBeingMummyToTwo (@VictoriaJayne23) January 2, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    Well done you!! I have ish, to save money but i would have started anytime of the year really!

  2. Gavin Bollardg December 31, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Nice. We’ve decided on a single family resolution….

    Live Healthier.

    The great thing about this is that there’s no particular “end goal”, it’s simply a mantra. Health is also a wide topic. You can eat healthier – for example, in my case it means to actually drink SOME water. Or we can try to have less fast food.

    Similarly, we can go for a walk every now and then – or do some other activity that doesn’t require a computer. It’s healthier…. or we can just consider our safety and wear hats outdoors more often, or go to the doctor when we’re not feeling well instead of ignoring it…

    We can even just think healthier thoughts.

    There’s no pressure and we’re all involved.

  3. Catherine (@MummyLion) December 30, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    i agree – there is too much blah blah, i’d rather set small goals in my heart.

  4. clairelouise82 December 29, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Aww thank you hun. How are you? Hope you managed to get some clean clothes or better still come home instead, theres nothing quite like home is there.xx

  5. Otilia December 29, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Lovely post. Thought about writing about new year resolutions too but not sure if I will do it or not. Your approach is the right one though. Xxx

Leave a Reply

