Does your 11 year old stay out all night on the streets?

24 Dec

Seriously people what’s going on?

Fuck sign, not directed at anyone!

Image via Wikipedia

Walking to the garage due to running out of stress sticks at midnight isn’t my idea of fun, especially in this whether, but last night it just had to be done! To my absolute horror I’m greeted by a couple of kids no older than 11 years old, hanging around at the entrance of the petrol station! Am I guessing their ages, I only wished I was! Sadly, I know for a fact that these are children of this age, how? Because it’s not that big an area, you therefore get to know who these children are especially when you have children of the same age… I say no more! I glance around looking for their parents but as I first suspected, my fears are confirmed these children are alone. However shocking this may have first seemed, as I set off, marching up the road at super speed, I think about it a little more and realise that actually I’m not that surprised at all, just angry, and confused for I can’t understand how or even why the parents of these 11-year-old boys allow them out at this crazy hour of the night?

I’ve seen it before, I’ve actually seen it a lot! Just a few weeks back I heard a commotion commencing outside my window, at first I tried my best to ignore it, we live on a main road and with the bus stop located right outside the window, I pretty much put it down to drunken yobos waiting for a bus (a bus that actually stopped running a half hour before). However, when their at the point of waking your children, especially when its your 11-year-old with Aspergers who doesn’t often “DO” sleep you have to give them a friendly push in the right direction (preferably away from your door) but as I approached the window, some little mandan looks up and 
gives me the middle finger while her 12-year-old friend throws her guts up all over my hedge! Now I’m not going to judge their mothers, god only knows that I hate judgemental people, nonetheless, I am interested to know why their parents aint their dragging them home by their piggy tails.

You see, I was a bit of a rebel when I was 13, I actually thought of myself as some big woman who knew better than her mum, and I wont lie by pretending I was in a 9 pm Like a good little girl! I went through a stage which lasted a good year, which mostly involved me putting my mother through hell (God… as a 29-year-old mother to three, I know that now!) My point, If I climbed out the window at 3am my mother followed me, if I didn’t come home she set about getting me there by setting the police on my arse, she didn’t just leave me to get on with things!

Again I’ve seen these children around the area and by day their buying penny mixup from the local newsagent and scoot up and down our street on their micros! Come night their, hanging around petrol stations pouncing something to smoke with can’s of “White Lightening” glued to their hand, while the little girls in pig tails have converted into some loud mouth monsters, who greet you with the show of a finger as they chuck up WKD on your hedge which see’s it turn a funny shade of blue!

My son is so far from an angel, as I’ve explained he can throw one almighty wobbler and his autism related public meltdowns make us perfect subjects for the finger-pointing parents! Yet with my hand on my heart, I would never allow any of my children to walk the streets in the middle of the night, and if they were ever seen to be, then they would be out without my say so that’s for sure! The thing is, if I take a peek out my window any night of the week, I’m bound to see one or two children some as young as ten, sat across the road laughing with their friends! When you’re seeing them same faces time and time again, it becomes a bit bloody worrying.

My son isn’t allowed far no matter what time it is, he becomes extremely stressed as other children his age go that bit further, it’s not that he has Aspergers (Ok, it is partly) but I don’t  want my daughter going anywhere when she’s the same age! It’s the world we live in, it’s not pretty. My point is, with myself feeling this way I can’t begin to understand how, or even why children of the same age are greeting me at petrol stations at gone midnight. I know that the best part of you reading this wouldn’t dare have their children roaming the streets at such an hour, however I bet there is one or two that do? Will you be brave enough to speak out and help me to somehow understand just why this is happening?

Because I, I just don’t get it!

 above image is from

4 Responses to “Does your 11 year old stay out all night on the streets?”

  1. michelletwinmum December 24, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    I completely do not get it either Claire. Like you aroudn the age if 13/14 I got rebellous and was drinking down the woods with a group of friends but without my parents knowledge and always back indoors byt the time set. My parents cared and that was the difference and when my dad did find out about some antics, I got grounded for 6 months and yes he stuck to it!

    Tough love is what parents are for. I appreciate it now as an adult.

    Have a wonderful Christmas love. Mich x

  2. Lou Strachan (@Bobbity666) December 24, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    No No No Never!! Simple they are children and it is my job as a Mother to guide them! My daughter is 12 and she isn’t allowed out as a rule because a lot of children of the same age do stay out and do generally whatever they like (hang around Tesco, garage etc the usual things) but this is NOT what I want my child to do so keeping her away from the influence that these days seems normal is my best bet.

    I do not want people to think I would allow my child to hang out and it would never be allowed – sadly I am in the minority these days but they are my morals and so they stand! I am saddened that I am seen as a strict parent where as I just view it as rules and boundaries which is something that will be part of my childrens lives every day from work (yes I expect them to get a job!) to school and in relationships.

    I am shocked by parents that don’t parent in the same way you are – what happened to rules??

    L xx

  3. Dorothee Archambault (@Dorothee77) December 24, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    I share your anger about this… I live in an area where it happens often, young kids walking down the streets, i keep questioning myself: why?????

  4. jessica whitehead-stevens (@jessws2011) December 24, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    When I was about 18, My friends little brother died, alone on a buss (athsma) at about 11:30 pm. He was 11. He was allowed to roam the streets all night every night. His mum only cared about her love life. She can’t live with herself now. I will not let my children out of my sight (they are going to dislike me for along time). Hopefully I will keep them safe.

Leave a Reply

