Brush-Baby Oral Hygiene For Little One’s

18 Nov

As many will already know, I recently bagged myself a Mad blog Award, which meant attending a lavish awards bash in Soho London and after a fabulous night with the “mummy bloggers” I was handed my Mads Goodie bag. 

 There was a host of fab items in that bag, from makeup to jewellery, there was just loads of it. 

 Brush-Baby were one the brands that put a few goodies in the bag, and so kindly sent me an email congratulating me on my win a few days after the awards. 

 After chatting some with the lovely guys at Brush-Baby, I agreed to do a review of some of their items.

 Those that follow the blog will know that Little man has a number of sensory processing difficulties, especially when it comes to the sensation of touch.

 This tends to be a difficulty that arises when it comes to teeth-brushing, it’s like a military operation trying to get the little guy to engage in such an activity every morning and evening. I therefore worry about his oral hygiene. 

 My daughter, thank goodness gives me no problems in this department, and so far so good with my 23 month old. 

 Nonetheless despite my youngest being keen to brush, I do worry “Mr independent” isn’t gaining the full benefits and he wont let me help, No way!

So my main focus was on the two boys. 

 After having a chat and expressing some of my concerns with the guys at brush baby, they sent me a bundle of stuff to try!

 Brush-Baby baby and toddler toothpaste

Brush baby Chewable toothbrush

Brush-Baby FlossBrush

Brush-Baby Children’s Toothpaste

Brush-Baby DentalWipes (finger sleeve type)

Brush-Baby Chewable toothbrush

 We were sent two of these one clear and one pink (the pink I gave to my niece 10 weeks younger than Harley)

The Chewable toothbrush is designed for little one’s between the age of 10 months to 3 years, and has been designed to not only help aid dental hygiene but also provide relief for the little one with sore gums.

 You can use the Chewable brush with or without toothpaste, it can be cooled in the fridge to help soothe teething gums and is dishwasher and steam steriliser safe.  

 This was awesome and fits perfectly into Harley mouth. Little H has most of his teeth at 23 months however the back ones are only just starting to push through and after chilling this in the fridge for a bit it proved a god-sent, Little Harley chomped away on it for ages. 

 It did seem a little strange applying toothpaste to the brush, nonetheless it works as the paste sits between the  actual bristles in a small ridge. 

 Brush-Baby DentalWipes 

 These are aimed at them first teeth and are recommended for babies up to 16 months, however I found them useful for both Harley (23 months) and even Little man (11 years) Ok, Little man wont get a full clean and will not benefit from them a great deal, but when you have a child who is highly sensitive and finds teeth brushing a huge task then why not try as the smallest of benefits is a benefit nonetheless! These prove great to use in between brushing, allowing both little man and baby H to keep on top of things. I highly recommend a pack of these when out and about, they are awesome!

 The Dental wipes are designed as a finger sleeve and are also good for cleaning around the month. Harley loves these and he forever has one stuck to his finger! I think they are brilliant and I’ve already been out and brought a couple more packs.

 Brush-Baby FlossBrush  

 This Flossbrush is aimed at children 3-6 years but as mentioned Little man age 11 is highly sensitive to tactile input and this goes for teeth brushing. I tried the brush on Little man and although his still not keen and it’s a huge struggle, he will now opt to use this brush! It’s quite soft and has short bristles to clean the tooth’s surface and slightly longer bristles to reach between the teeth and into the gum line. We liked the small brush head and easy grip handle making this difficult task that bit easier for the little man.

 Brush-Baby children’s toothpaste 

 Again this toothpaste is aimed at children between the ages of 3-6 but suited Little man to a T, although he is some 5 years over the recommended age! The way I see it is, Its got to be better than using nothing at all! This is honestly the first ever toothpaste I have found my son wanting to use. He will openly state that he loves the taste of this toothpaste but still cannot stand the after effects that come with teeth brushing, such as the sensation left in his month and how everything taste weird for the next half hour or so! However the fact he likes this is a great starting point. The toothpaste contains both ‘Xylitol’ (which prevents the build up of bacteria) and ‘Fluoride’ (which strengthens the tooth’s enamel). It’s SLS free and comes in an awesome ‘Tutti Frutti’ flavour which just swung it for the Little man. His sister quite likes this one two and has used it whenever big brother isn’t watching!

 Brush-Baby baby and toddler toothpaste

 This toothpaste is designed for both baby and toddlers up to the age of 3. It contains both ‘Xylitol’ and lower ‘Fluoride’ 

 I loved that this is a low foaming paste making it ideal for both baby and toddler, it’s SLS free and better still its safe to swallow which is reassuring as this tends to happen a lot for Harley. The gentle Apple-mint flavour also proved a huge hit with Little Harley and he uses it regularly with his new Chewable toothbrush. 

 I really like the Brush-Baby range of oral hygiene products. With the exception of the chewable brush and the FlossBrush, I have already brought more of the other products (both types of toothpaste and the dental wipes) Which I picked up from our local supermarket.

 All Brush-Baby product seem reasonable priced and can be brought from a number of well-known stores including Sainsbury’s, Tesco and Lloyds Pharmacy.

Leave a Reply

