Mummy burnt the cakes again!

2 Nov

Guess what me and the kiddies have been up too?

This non domestic goddess has been in the kitchen again and guess what? I didn’t burn it down🙂 I long to be able to bake amazing home-made puddings, ones that don’t come already part prepared… You know boxed sponge mix, the type you just add an egg to! Not very exciting I know. I want to be able to get mega creative and make my children beautifully iced birthday cakes instead of paying a small fortune for them! I’ve discovered that actually what I want to do most is unleash my creativeness and decorate cakes perhaps that bit more than I actually want to prepare and bake them. Maybe that’s my problem, I’m always that bit to keen to get to the whole decorating part of things done, resulting in me wrecking the cake.

As mentioned in a post at the beginning of October, Little man has been doing cookery in school every Tuesday and honestly, his baking skills are way better than mine, his made some great progress within certain areas of his education since attending his independent special school, It’s lovely to see, though I am a bit jealous at the sons sudden skills in the kitchen, something he undoubtedly acquires from his father and the Italian within him. It’s not that I can’t cook, I really can, I’m just no dab-hand when it comes to knocking together a cake, tart or anything sweet for that matter! Would you be shocked if I told you that I even had issues getting a pack of ‘Postmen pat’ cakes to rise, which of course I blamed that “Useless oven of mine” 

So when the lovely lot at Renshaw said they would send me and the kids some products, we couldn’t wait.

WOW, I was mega impressed with the items we were sent

 1 x Cool coloured sugardough

2x Funky flavoured sugardough

1x Topical magic melting icing 

1x Raspberry magic melting icing

3x icing spreading knife things (yes baking virgin hasn’t got a clue what these gadgets are called)

 This sugardough was the business, I’m telling you now, if you have children who are sensory seekers this is the perfect thing for them.

I’ve mentioned the benefits of clay and play-dough for children with autism and sensory processing disorder more than onces on this blog! Now you can go ahead and add sugardough to the list it’s fantastic! 

 Extremely tactile, mould it, play with it, eat it! 

This stuff can be rolled flat to ice a cake, used to create birthday or even cupcake decorations, the possibilities are endless…

Sugardough comes in some really funky bright colours, providing loads of visual stimulation, the sensory seeker wont want to put it down and maybe disappointed if you actually ate it! 

That’s not all, its yummy too, the funky flavoured dough comes in a range of colours and is the perfect icing for those who have difficulty using piping bags and all that other stuff! Yes, anyone remember my attempt at icing cupcakes? The bag exploded and I ended up with a bright yellow face (so, wasn’t my best look)

Little man is tactile defensive, but loved the texture of the Sugardough! All three children, including my 23 month old toddler had hours of fun making Halloween cake topper’s (well, the toddler just bashed at it for a bit before demolishing it) I was busy making chocolate sponge cake and all seemed to be going pretty good, well… it was! You see I got a tad distracted, I confess, I got a tad carried away helping create some savaged fingers to add to the spooky chocolate cake, only there was no chocolate cake because I burnt it! I actually cremated the hell out of it! However, please take note… I didn’t start a fire which is a slight improvement from the last time I made cakes, which I would rather actually not go into thanks🙂

 So, here is our spooky toppers, minus the cakes for them to top

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Magic melting icing

Lucky for the whole family daddy made cakes with the melting icing. It was magical but everything is when he gets in the kitchen and don’t he know it. The icing has to be heated slightly in the microwave (be careful not to over heat it or worse if your anything like me, be careful not to set fire to it). It can then be spread over cupcakes, cookies and anything else you fancy… Roast Chicken, bacon sandwiches (I’m kidding)! But if your good with a piping bag you can use it to create some pretty decorations like hearts or stars. 

Well, these were so lovely there was no time for taking pictures, if the truth be told, my diet went out the window again (get some willpower woman)! Yes, I ate them, well with the help of the kids of course. 

Ranshaw baking products can be brought from all major supermarkets. I actually brought some more of this stuff today which was on a 3 for 2 deal over at Tescos!

I highly recommend both products, however the Sugardough is fab, and I highly recommend for children with or without autism. It provides hours of fun, encourages creativity, gets your children in the kitchen helping mum and has a ton of sensory benefits. 

You can check out the “Renshaw My Bakes” website, where you will find the products above mentioned and a host more. Plus there are some amazing recipes to provide lots of inspiration as well as tips and advice which I know I need!

So… Fancy joining me? Then just Click HERE.

Leave a Reply

