Let’s play a little Dotto

12 Oct

I love reviewing board games as for me they’re a way of encouraging social interaction and having a child on the autism spectrum, makes that an important factor for me.

As mentioned in my last review of the board game ‘Faqir’, blog-match successful teamed us up with the guys at Tactic Games. Not only was we sent Faqir but also the game ‘Dotto’ in which I’d like to share with you all today.


Dotto is a dice game that requires luck, skill and speed! Race against the clock to match the sequence on the card to the positioning of the coloured dice on the board, the only problem is the timer (supplied) goes of randomly meaning you have to be super quick the entire time.

Warning… Beware not to pick up the “Miss a turn” card and watch out for the reverse card, that will completely reverse the order of play.


Game board

10 coloured dice


55 pattern cards

15 tokens

pouch for storing dice, cards and tokens


I’m a little confused as to why they didn’t just use the card that was popped out the board allowing room for the dice, to be used as the tokens as these no longer have any use.


Ages 6+

2-5 players


“I absolutely loved it!”

What a big kid I am. I’m really competitive and give no chances, not even to my children. I played the game with both Little man and his sister, ‘Alice-Sara’ It was originally just the two of them but only five minutes in, it was turning into a game of war so I intervened.

My daughter gave up half way through and I almost lost Little man a few times when he got the total hump when I was leading and also through frustration, convinced the timer was plotting against him, (I do admit that the unlucky little bugger seemed to always get the shortest amount of time to copy and build his pattern sequence).

Little man does have a range of difficulties that come down to his inability in doing things in sequence unless there are visual aids to assist him! Luckily with this game you get just that in the patterned coloured cards. The timer was a different story altogether. He hates having to rush things, plus the fact he had no control over how long it would be before the buzzer went off, drove him loopy!

Regardless of these factors he stuck with it, giving all he had which was awesome.

Practise would clearly help to better develop a child with autism’s sequencing skills and their ability to deal with the unexpected (buzzer).

Alice gave a big fat no stars score (through ignore this she didn’t even play and I think that’s properly why.

Little man gave it a 3 stars *** where I gave it the full ***** five stars it deserved.

Note: The timer takes three AAA batteries (not included) and you will require the use of a small screwdriver so worth having one to hand.


Get Dotto for £14.99 at Amazon

and a variety of other toy providers

One Response to “Let’s play a little Dotto”

  1. Elaine Livingstone October 12, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Yes I commented the same on the push out squares in the middle, and we have played it with a 5 yr old and no timer, and it is good for their co-ordination, logic and reasoning skills and he actually did surprisingly well.

Leave a Reply

