OMG! The Mad Blog Awards are almost here!

15 Sep

In just 15 more days the Mad blog awards will announce its winners at a lavish ceremony in London’s Talk Talk experience centre Soho, and everyone is gearing up for the party!

I still can’t quite believe how far I’ve come and yes, I’ve needed to give myself a good hard pinch to remind myself that, YES, I’m in the final. I haven’t even realised that in actual fact, I’m quite bloody nervous about the whole thing.

Sally Whittle, the founder and organiser of the Mads is quite simply amazing, the organisation that has been put into this event is truly wonderful. I know this because not only has she gone all out in getting us finalist fantastic cut price accommodation at the Radisson hotel (Which my wonderful sponsor OptiBac Probiotics has so kindly covered) but she’s also arranged for some fantastic retailers to kit us out in glam evening wear for the event (John Lewis, The white stuff, M&S and TK Maxx to name a few)

So, before I go any further I would like to thank Sally for all the hard work she has put into the Mads with the help of all the wonderful sponsors of the event

“Sally your Ace”

On the 21st of September I will head to London where I will meet a few other finalist, Sally (I hope) and Polly the PR for TK Maxx, where we will shop at the London’s Knightsbridge flagship store before heading off for a spot of lunch.

TK Maxx and Sally have both removed the worry of (a) finding an outfit and b) the cost of having to buy one! Wow, that makes this mum and finalist one grateful woman so again a massive thank you.

Things have been a little tough this past few years and I’ve shared the good and the bad via my blog! It seems strange because at the time when I was writing some of them really emotional posts and rants I never thought for one minute, by doing that I’d end up a finalist of the Mad blog awards, looking forward to this fantastic event that is taking place on the 30th.

I saw a tweet on twitter from Sally that asked, “Has anyone written a speech” my answer was, “But that would me we thought we had a chance of winning” Seriously, I hadn’t even thought about speeches, the event seems to have arrived so quickly, one minute we were in June and now it’s September.

Being a finalist has helped me to discover some awesome reading material within some great blogs. It has made me blog with more confidence and gain some fantastic new friends.

The Mad awards helped me to discover a great brand, ‘OptiBac probiotics’ who have been lovely enough to support me as my sponsor while introducing me and the children to their brilliant range of probiotics that are really helping little man with his digestive health while reducing anxiety.

The awards are not even over yet and already I can say I’ve gain lots of awesome moments through being a part of it (which is of course all down to those lovely lot who voted for me)

I’m still hoping my readers enjoy my post about life with three children one on the autism spectrum, what with less educational drama happening in my life, I’ve blogged less and less about discrimination, a self harming ten year old and the special educational needs system, and more about the joyful and at times seemingly averageness that is our day to day life!

Then we have the children! Three angels that often convert to little terrors, what do they think about mummy banging on about the Mad blog awards?

Well, my 8 year old daughter, (going on 30) quite opening highlighted when visiting my mother, that, “Beware, Mum may talk about the Mad blog Awards…..” Oh yes, Sarcasm a speciality of hers which I’m convinced is something of a talent! Alice-Sara has informed me that, “Mum your more excited than a child” Well, she has a point!

Little Harley (Aka, ‘Little H’) at 21 months old he doesn’t have a clue what I’m banging on about, which is most fortunate for him!

So… What about Little man (Aka, The boy with Aspergers)? Well, get this for a giggle! His claimed that he should be the one in the final! When asked why? I got,

“If I didn’t have Aspergers Syndrome there would be no blog called, A boy with Aspergers”

No, this is not sarcasm this is just rigid thinking, bless him.

Well, if those three kiddiwinks think they have heard the last of it then they are mistaken, BIG TIME! With every passing day I have a new knot in my tummy. Is it over the outcome of the night? I think it’s the whole thing with a rich coating of excitement.

So, there you have it!

I’ll be dead sad when it’s all over!

Readers you’re amazing, every single one of you!

those that want to follow whats happening before, during and most likely after the awards then add the hash tag #MadBlogAwrds to your tweeter timeline. I will be sure to post to the A boy with Aspergers facebook page during the course of the evening

Please check out my blog sponsor, “OptiBac Probiotics” (Probiotics are great for digestive health in children with autism and aspergers.

2 Responses to “OMG! The Mad Blog Awards are almost here!”

  1. fighting for my children September 15, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Im so excited for you! You are a great blogger. Good luck!

  2. Mum in Meltdown September 15, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    You deserve to be up there and I have my fingers crossed for you🙂 You blog is brilliant and you provide parents with children who have Aspergers so much information and support. No need to pinch yourself and you have just as much chance of winning as all the finalists!! So don’t put yourself down…. you can do it. Can’t wait to hear all about it the event sounds brilliant🙂 Good luck xx

Leave a Reply

