Feeling a tad proud

28 Aug

Wow, can you believe it? I managed to get my article, “Big issues for Little Man” published in SEN magazine!

Back in late May I sent some press releases to the Media relating to the Mad Blog Awards. I was overjoyed when, ‘Peter’ the editor for ‘SEN magazine’ emailed me stating he really liked the blog, “Especially that of my latest article” (remember this was late May). Peter then went on to ask me  if  I would be interested in writing an article for the magazine based on my experiences parenting a child on the autism spectrum. 

Umm, Yes Please! 

SEN Magazine is a great resource for parents and professionals alike. It contains all the latest information on Special educational needs, as-well as host of other areas.

SEN contains resources and articles relating to a number of different conditions and disabilities. It provides contact details and links, pointing you in the right direction of all them need to know organisations! SEN, shares all the latest events and exhibitions and even has an online resource that shares extracts from the mag as-well as breaking news in the world of special education. 

The magazine is delivered via a subscription but is given as a free resource to all Special school. There is a free trail taking place at the moment, meaning you can have a copy of SEN delivered free of charge (try before you buy). I recommend this magazine to anyone with a child with special educational needs, (and no, it has nothing to do with my contribution what so ever) it’s just an awesome resource throughout!

I really didn’t think I would be able to upload a pdf file of my article on a,’wordpress.com’ blog (I have only been blogging here for like three years :))! 

Well, to my surprise and utter delight it turns out that I can! This means that I am able to now share my article with all my lovely online friends and anyone else for that matter! 

So, before you click the link and see the article I’m so very proud off, let me thank all my wonderful readers, new and old. Yes, its every single one of you guys that has helped me through the many battles I’ve faced as a parent to a boy with Aspergers.

 Could I see myself writing an article about the subject a year ago? No way! Life was far to messy to even contemplate such a thing! (Having your article published in a magazine, somehow feels a tad scarier then on the web!)

Writing this article actually shows just how far we’ve come as a family!

 The link will open a pdf file (Note: please feel free to download if you wish)! It would also be great if you could help me spread the news by sharing the link to my article online.

Thanks and enjoy


SEN54 autism

4 Responses to “Feeling a tad proud”

  1. Katie Hill August 29, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    That’s so relatable. I think you made many heads nod when this was read. x

  2. Rob Lott August 29, 2011 at 8:32 am #


    I just read your fantastic article in SEN magazine, which led me to look for your blog. Thank you for writting such an honest & revealing article, you have opened my eyes a little more to the realities of daily life with a child with Aspergers.

    Thank you.


  1. Section one, Part (1) Introduction to special educational needs « A boy with Asperger's - September 13, 2011

    […] Feeling a tad proud (aspergersinfo.wordpress.com) Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Inspiration from Patagonia and Yvon Chouinard Share this:FacebookRedditStumbleUponDiggTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger! « A boy with Asperger's - August 31, 2011

    […] Feeling a tad proud (aspergersinfo.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

