Ready Steady Lick

19 Jul

Don’t be put off by the title, this is a family blog and is no way inappropriate, Ok!

 I actually post tonight, sharing some need to know information for biscuit lovers, charity campaigners, fundraisers  and competition chasers alike.

 Not only am I going to tell you an easy way to raise funds for the fantastic children’s charity KidsOut,  “A charity that make it their mission to give disadvantaged children and young people fun, positive activities and experiences that contribute to their development, providing them with a happier future” but I’m also offering you the chance to get your mitts on a great prize courtesy of Oreo.

 Last week I received an email from the lovely people at Oreo’s who invited me to take part in their new Double stuff Oreo lick race. The lick race is a competition to find Britain’s most entertaining Lick Racer’ while encouraging fun family moments. “Well my family has often been looked upon as entertaining, normally during one off little man’s full on meltdowns during a trip to the local supermarket, given I’m used to a bit of public attention and the fact I’m totally sick of dieting, I thought why not” 

How does it work?

 Based on the ritual of twisting an Oreo, licking off the creme, and dunking the remaining biscuits in milk, a lick race is all about having fun as a family by doing the ritual in a way everyone can enjoy! 

This is filmed and uploaded to the Oreo Lick Race website or better still you can do it live via web cam (No, not with my little angels… uploading later was my choice).

Once you’ve uploaded get your family and friends voting for you to win!

 Not only will you have a giggle, the chance to win a VIP family holiday to Florida but for every video clip uploaded Oreo will donate £1 to the charity ‘KidsOut’ with three categories and up to five entrants per category allowed, your given plenty off opportunities to bag the prize and raise a tidy sum of £15 for this fantastic cause.

Enter in one or all three of the categories
Child Vs Parent

Sibling Vs Sibling

Grandparent Vs Grandchild 

Oreo kindly supplied me with a Lick Race Kit containing everything I needed to participate.We have filmed a couple of races in the parent vs. sibling and sibling vs. sibling categories “I’m still working on my mother for her co-orperation within the Grandparent category, which isn’t proving easy but I’ve still got some time left and I’m a determined woman!” I plan to complete a few more races giving myself the prefect excuse to stuff my face with a few more yummy new double creme Oreo’s before uploading. Did we have any tantrums during the Lick race? Of course this is my families Lick Race I’m referring to! Little man did get upset once and he accused his sister of breaking the rules (a few flying Oreo’s and a table may of made interesting viewing for the crazed reality fan sat at home, but with a quick press of the delete button I took care of that!) 

So why don’t you all get licking! Remember there are rules (such as no teeth) amongst others, so before kicking off your Lick Race visit the Oreo lick race official website HERE to find out how to play, the rules of play and what you need to participate (yummy Oreo biscuits, milk, tumblers, web cam or video cam/mobile phone and internet access) 

Oreo kindly provided me with an extra Lick Race kit to give away to one of our lucky readers.

The kit contains all you need for your Lick Race including a stylish HD flip Cam with tripod to record your Double Stuff Oreo Lick Race.

 All you have to do is comment below telling me one of your most memorable family moments.

The competition will only ran for three days so that you still have time to record and upload your Lick Race. Please leave an email address or twitter id so I can contact you if you win. I will contact you on the 22nd July in-order to get your address (UK only). If I haven’t heard back from you by mid-night on the 22nd I will have to re-draw (this is due to the lick race finishing on the 31st July 2011)

This giveaway will end at mid-night on the 21st July 2011

Oero Lick Race competition closes on the 31st July 2011 

 To find out more about KidsOut a charity visit their site by clicking HERE 

Visit the Oero site to play, ‘Who’s the slicker licker’ (a watch to win online game) win a Wii every day plus 1000s of Double stuff lick race prizes. Visit the Oreo facebook page

16 Responses to “Ready Steady Lick”

  1. Jo Warden July 21, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    one of my most recent favourate family moments was when my son stepped on stage and recieved his award for “outstanding student achievent year one business studies” at our local cathedral . The awards were for students at out local college.he has had many ups and downs during his educational years and he had worked so hard . Considering his aspergers and the many obsticles he faces every day at college it was one of my proudest moments and you could see how proud he was of himself to !!! jo warden

  2. Mummymummymum July 21, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    Showing my 2 big children their baby sister

  3. Nicola Hinchliffe July 21, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    My most memorable family moment was seeing my partner take my litle boy in his arms for the very first time. I was so ill after giving birth that I could barely smile never mind hold my little man but seeing the instant bond form between my oh and our baby was magical x

    Twitter – Charliefunhouse

    E-mail –

    Fingers crossed x

  4. liveotherwise July 21, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Most memorable family moment would be Big and Small meeting Smallest for the first time moments after her home birth. Big was smitten immediately, Small wasn’t quite sure what the fuss was about. But I think she’s grown on him.

    Catch me on twitter as @liveotherwise🙂

  5. Sara Rudnick Van Laningham July 21, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    we just went to Sonshine Christian music festival in MN….watching my kids enjoy the music and praising the Lord was a great weekend get away!!

    thanks for the opportunity for this give away, I came across your FB page from friend
    My husband and I do foster care for 4 disabled adults (some with autism in our company) so I will be checking back regularly

  6. Pam Worrall July 19, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    my most memorable family moment has definatly got to be giving birth to my gorgeous little boy🙂
    i went into spontanious labour with him on his due date (halloween!!) i was in labour for about 10 mins my fiance had to deliver him! it is something neither of us will ever, ever forget🙂 x x x

  7. Clare Anderson July 19, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Great competition! I think my favourite family moment was at my wedding, when we tried (with my 5 brothers & sisters) to recreate the last family photo we had – 20 years earlier! Great fun x


  8. Zoe Hankey July 19, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Twitter @zoehankey

    My family is Tom (now 11) and me. Well this is my most memorable family moment.  It happened about 6 years or so ago & every time I think about it I think that poor woman! 

    So I went to the local carnival with Tom and he was so good I told him that we would have pizza hut and go to see Harry Potter (I think the 3rd one).

    I booked the cinema tickets and went to pizza hut & Tom didn’t eat much he said he didn’t feel too good but I thought that was typical child just didn’t want to eat the food so I finished up & headed to our screen.  The cinema theatre was packed but I managed to find 2 seats and we sat down.  

    There was a lovely woman sat next to us munching on a packet of Revels, she turned around to Tom and asked if he was excited, I’m not sure what his response was but the lady then went on to tell Tom that she was so excited and had been waiting for such a long time to see this next film, she then asked me if she could offer Tom a sweet which I said was ok, so Tom took a Revel and ate it and looked rather unimpressed at the sweet. The woman said to Tom did you get an odd one, and he didn’t reply just looked at her.

    About a minute later Tom threw up… All over the lovely lady who had been waiting for so long to see the new Harry Potter film and you know what she was so nice about it….. Well I apologised profusely and scuttled out of the room with my whaling child in tow, I took him to the toilets where I stripped him of his trousers, washed him and made him a nice skirt type thing with his hoodie. At that point Tom was running around as right as rain when a cinema attendant came in and loudly asked who has got the child who’s been sick…. Sheepishly I admitted it was me, I thought I was in for a big bill but she was so nice, she had a bottle of water for Tom & checked he was ok…. She asked if I was going back in 2 watch the film and I said no way I cant show my face in there again!  Fortunately it was just starting in another screen so suggested we go in there & gave me an empty popcorn bucket in case of any further pukey problems.  We got to 5 minutes before the end of the film when the popcorn bucket was put to good use.

    At the time I was mortified but now it is something that makes me smile and yes this most definitely my most memorable family moment!!

    Now if I don’t win I just hope that this makes somebody smile :-) 

  9. Alice July 19, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    1, omg I love Oreos and this is fantastic! My son has the longest tongue in the world so I think that should be against the rules!

    2, My Twitter, @Baillie_MyLife

    & 3, My greatest family moment so far is… the moment Kyd realised we were going to see WWE Wrestling live at the O2, London. We had kept it quiet the whole way there and on the tube he was looking very confused. We arrived and as he walked out of the tube station he looked up… with the biggest grin and the biggest hop skip and jump he started screaming ‘Wrestling Wrestling’. Kyd has very little speech and even after 8 years of practice I still can’t quite get what he’s saying half the time… But this was sooooo clear!! He held my hand and dragged me and the OH off squeezing our fingers so tight and squealing like a girl!! He was jumping up and down and as I watched his little face get more and more excited… I cried… I am such a numpty… But the fact that he was that excited was like a relief of a feeling trapped inside from his diagnosis at birth. I’ve always worried about could he do anything and like anything and want anything and achieve anything that he wanted to do… I realised at that moment that he would be just fine and to share that with my OH was new for me as I had always dealt with everything as a single parent… This was the start of my new life time to relax and focus on the cans not the can’ts…🙂

    PS sorry this is soooo long lol… once I started writing I just couldn’t stop… :S Good memories make me cry… emotional wreck!

  10. Vanessa Willis July 19, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    One of my most precious family moments is watching our son make his baby sister laugh for the first time. At that moment his face lit up with joy and I’m quite sure he fell head over heels in love with her.

  11. claire July 19, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    What a great competition,my most memorable family moment was giving birth to all my 4 kids.The shock was my 4th being a girl after 3 boys and the midwife said look a girl and didn’t believe her because she looked like her brothers🙂



  12. Inside the Wendy House July 19, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    What a fun competition the Oreo Lick Race looks! This is a great giveaway too🙂 One memorable family moment for us was my son’s first birthday and naming day. All the family gathered together and we all recorded video messages and read poems and readings. Some family members performed songs and my daughter made a beautiful slide show of his first 12 months. He has just had his 2nd birthday….time to re-watch the footage from last year I think!!

  13. ramblingsofasuburbanmummy July 19, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    One of the most special days with my son was when we went to a Farm to see the animals and machinery, he was 17months old. We had loads of fun talking about the animals and making their noises etc then we saw some very big tractors, he was so excited he was shaking and all of a sudden he just shouted “I LOVE TRACTORS”, we nearly fell down, it completely took us by surprise as it was his first real unaided sentence. We were so happy we let him look at the tractors for about an hour! He still didn’t want to come away so we had to bribe him with the promise of getting a toy one to take home. We still go back to the farm regularly as a result
    You can reach me at or @suburban1mummy

  14. Forest Flower July 19, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    What a fab competition! My Little Man and the Other Half are Oreo fanatics so I know they would have great fun Lick Racing! We recently had a great ‘family moment’ involving strawberry Angel Delight that would have made a fantastic home movie. It got very messy but worth it for the giggles🙂 x

    you can tweet me @forestflower23

  15. Carolin July 19, 2011 at 5:06 am #

    Our most memorable family moment so far must be Amy’s birth. Although quite traumatic, it was a moment we will never forget x



  1. Winner of an Oreo Race Lick Kit (Including HD flip cam and tripod) « A boy with Asperger's - July 22, 2011

    […] Ready Steady Lick ( […]

Leave a Reply

