Star struck

31 Jan

Ok… now you guys know I’m a mum that embraces her child’s “special ways” I’m always encouraging him to indulge in his “special interest” eventhough it’s got very over the top lately, I always praise him for his IT skills and his fantastic mental maths and it’s fair to say I’ve been equally accepting of his love of music. Now, don’t get me wrong the little guy has always been a fan of music but lately his been really feeling the music, He quickly programmes his brain to remember lyrics and then sings them aloud till his hearts content.

Now I’m not wringing “Ok maybe just a bit” and I’m only human here right… But last night and today I really wanna run and hide… either that or put my foot through little mans PC.

Here’s the issue! Little man has recently got a taste for the artist Bruno Mars who is currently number one in the UK charts. Now of course this isn’t a problem (well not as such) and it’s great he likes his music so much! However the problem is little man has never done things by half and becoming a Bruno mars fan was no exception. The number one single ‘Grenade’ was a song that I myself kinda liked… Well, that was in till little man totally killed it! I’m not being OTT when I say “His played it to death and I’m close to knocking myself out with some strong sleeping pills, and if that fails a frying pan… so I don’t have to hear it once more”

It’s not just the song I’ve heard playing over & over & over again that’s slowly sending me to the blink of madness, but Little man really sees himself as a talented singer and although I love my son… I do not love his singing! This isn’t the half of it! As well as streaming the video repeatedly on You tube, playing it on his HTC smart phone, creating a ringtone, reseaching the guy on the net and spending far to much time on his fan page… He also feels the need to talk about him to an excessive extent. Even buses and trains have been cut back a little as to allow room for this new idol.

As I write this post I have the song impregnated on the brain. It’s there against my will and will not leave as ordered. Well, this is the result of hearing it till the small hours and almost the whole of today. Any comment I make that even tries to suggest he stops and moves on to something else is reacted to in a less then positive way.

He told me that the main reason he loves this particular song so much was because the Artist (Bruno Mars) refers to a train within the lyrics. With transport being his love and given that it’s incorporated into this song, I don’t really think I stood a chance when pleading for a well needed rest from Bruno Mars!

I’m now hiding away in the sanctuary of my bedroom where I hope to remain undisturbed for the next half hour or so.

So… If your reading this Mr Bruno Mars… Please feel free to contact me so you can engage in the conversation of the art of moderation with my little guy “your truest fan” as you really do have a lot to answer for *giggle* But despite my crazyness it only seems right to thank you for making my little man smile.

5 Responses to “Star struck”

  1. fiona2107 February 1, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Oh Claire you’re hilarious! Thanks for the giggles🙂

    I feel the same about frigging Ben 10…. UGH!

  2. clairelouise82 January 31, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    I’ve tried and he hates them. Tried more then one type too. Today his swinging between Bruno Mars and Buses lol.x

  3. Sandra January 31, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    OMG , lol, We too have gone through the club penguin stage, hour after hour,day after day etc etc . Its now some xbox game, we only see J for mealtimes lol, even though we encourage him to spend time with the family and frequently remind him of how much we enjoy his company (major hint dropping to pls come outta your bedroom for a while) but thats just his ‘thing’ n thats what he does n he aint doing anyone any harm so we just let him crack on lol.

    Talking of singing, the latest thing with J every tuesday from 7-9 is SINGING lol, goes to singing classes, well , when i say singing classes thats whats its advertised as but turns out its a small hall were a girl lets them sing songs on a karoke machine but hey he enjoys it.
    J insists he wants to be a singer when he grows up, when he goes to these classes he records himself singing on his phone, he then returns home n goes to his room and constantly plays back his recording of himself singing …..Bless him !🙂

  4. superlittlemen January 31, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    Oh god, I guess this is something we have to come. Club penguin is our obssession at the moment, life revolves around it, every living breathing moment, it took nearly 2 years for it to replace the super mario obssession! Would he wear a pair of headphones?

  5. Lizbeth January 31, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    OMG, that’s so funny…I’m laughing with you! Our boys sound so much alike. We went through a phase where his favorite song was ‘Hey there Delilah’ by the Plain White T’s. He has every single word down pat. To this day that song is seared on the back sides of my retina’s. Oh, it’s what you do to me, what you do to me…..LOL

Leave a Reply

