Mondays Suck!

22 Nov

It’s Monday and in all honesty.. My worse day of the week.

Most mummy’s love the fact the weekends over and the children have a whole week in school a head of them. Me I’m already longing for Friday… I hate nothing more then having to take my son to school on a Monday morning!

I was sat on the sofa early this morning… Bracing myself for the week ahead. What mood would the little guy be in when I wake him this morning. It was one question I think I already knew the answer too!

My daughter got up, washed and dressed… She gave me a loving kiss and a wave good bye when she was collected at 8.30am this morning. No matter what, she leaves with the same wave and a kiss each morning! Now I was faced with yet again the challenge to drag my little guys butt from his (My) bed! It wasn’t like it was my first attempt! No I had been pleading with little man since 7am with no joy what so ever. It always seems to be worse on a Monday, what with the weekend having had an impact on his routine and his need for more sleep… It’s like trying to presuade kids to eat veg!

Eventually we had movement and Little man is getting ready at a snails pace. I’ve stopped trying to feed him before leaving as it’s just never gonna happen and will ultimately cause more problems then needed.

So…. We are done! A lot of screaming, moaning, slamming doors later we are out the door and heading for the school. We go through the whole please be good conversation, before he goes storming off through the gates! I will usually go in with little man and wait in reception for his TA. His still downstairs in the “den” which to you and me means… Little man is still spending mornings isolated from his class and working in the lower building with his one2one. Now behind them gates awaits an array of dangers hence the reason I would normally wait with him for his TA! But this morning I’m feeling like a sack of poo. I’ve already thrown up for England this morning and due to the mornings episodes with little man…. my head is pounding. With this and the fact I’ve left baby with his dad I head back home where once indoors I lay down on the bed with bubba and listen to… Well, Nothing.. The sound of pure silence. With this we both enter the land of nod.

Just over an hour later we are up. Little man needs collecting from school at midday and it’s already 11.50am. “God to say I’m feeling rough is an understatement” But with a quick wash of my face and a drag on the deadly sin.. A cigarette… I’m off again.

On arrival I’m met by little mans TA and told the head wants a word. “It was two good to be true… We haven’t had a “word” for a least two weeks and to be honest I liked it that way” I’m greeted with an upset little man and a angry head. To be honest I just wanna be sick (No really I think I I’m coming down with a lousy bug) Its then I’m informed that little man is to return to school today as his on full time this week. I admit I thought he was still on part time for two days and full time for three days. I’m then told to collect him for lunch and home time earlier then his peers like before, and not to be late as he misbehaves in the time he is waiting for me (yet I am only just informed) Little man is constantly shouting out “When can I be normal and go to my class in the mornings like everybody else?” He was clearly becoming anxious with the whole situation.. Yet the head took us out to reception, chose one chair out the four or five that were there and told little man when he is waiting for me he will sit on that chair and only that chair.

Well thanks for that Mr Head teacher! I just wanna get out of here and go home and be bloody ill. I wasn’t rude and I didn’t make a fuss I just went home feed the little guy and took him back to school again! For what was the point getting upset.. I’ve come to learn me and little guy are the only ones who suffer.

Being the good girl I am…at 3.15pm (well 3.17pm to be precise) I’m off out again collecting little man from school. As I buzz the intercom I notice through the window that he isn’t there “on his allocated chair” “Before I’m buzzed in I just know there is a problem”

A problem there was, and mum was here to sort it out!

“His refusing to leave and a TA has gone into the head teachers office for help” I’m told. I stand there thinking…
“No you really don’t wanna know what I’m thinking!” Another member of staff asks me if I wanna go and see where it is my child is refusing to come out from. “Sounds interesting, don’t you think?” Walking along the corridoor I’m approched by the Deputy head yet I’m completely ignored by his class teacher (no guessing why that is) I’m more concerned for my child right now! I at least wanna know where he is! Little mans class are being lead by his teacher from the hall.. Once the hall is empty the deptuy head points towards a corner filled with PE equipment and soft play items. buried beneath it is my son.

Holding out my hand I asked him to come out. Without further attempt he climbed out and asked me if he was in trouble. Did he seem distress? No, he was fine if anything a little worried! So why was he in there? He told me, because it’s comfortable in there, And everyone was singing… He tells me he was practising for the Christmas play but had become confused at what part he was playing… He said it was nice in there… And lastly he said “I don’t wanna leave the class till home time like everybody else”

There was no word from anyone else for when we turned around to leave the hall I saw it was just us. With this we collected his homework from class and walked round to collect his sister.

Still….. considering today was a horrid Monday… Some Positives did occur…

…We had word from the Sen caseworker at the LEA that they will ask the “special school” that state they cannot meet little mans needs to reconsider. They are also looking into schools in the neighboring boroughs. The Sen case worker is very helpful and has maintained contact with myself throughout Little mans Statutory assessment, and for this I’m most grateful… I don’t think I could of dealt with adding another person to the “unhelpful list”

I also got comfirmation on an appointment for Little mans brain scan as part of the Autism study. This appointment is booked for Monday the 29th November and a second scan on 13th December. The scan is part of the study in diagnosis autism in children and myself and of course little man feel privileged to be a part of it. Though there is one downfall to this study! Little man cannot take his Melatonin for a week (that means as off tonight) Though melatonin seems to have less effect these days, it’s still not going to make our nights any less stressful. He still may sleep late but aleast he does still sleep when taking the medication. Let’s hope it don’t cause to much of a problem.

I also received some pretty awesome news this week in relation to a pending project of mine… In which I will share another time when things are more final.

So… Although like always this Monday sucked! It was those few pieces of good news that kept it bearable.. Now I prepare myself and the little guy for the rest of the week. Here’s hoping for better days then today!

2 Responses to “Mondays Suck!”

  1. clairelouise82 November 23, 2010 at 3:20 am #

    Hiya John.
    Wow there’s me moaning on when you have it 6x harder🙂 Little man smashed up one of the bedroom doors recently and with that I thought of you (I remember the video you sent me where the children had wreaked the house) I’m really started to “get that” Through mine is caused by only the one pair of hands and feet, its still totally hard and I really do admire you and your wife.
    Hope the children are well.

  2. Dadof6AutisticKids November 23, 2010 at 2:38 am #

    Ahhh, isn’t it fun dealing with schools, teachers and an uncooperative child! This year we have 4 different schools that they scatter off to each morning. The morning baths and showers start at 5:30 and the last one is done and in school by 8:30. Fun times for all.

Leave a Reply

