Birthday wishes

12 Oct

To say this is a belated birthday post is understatement!

My little man, as of the first of October 2010 was one year older. Yes, his now into the double figures, where have the years gone?. This can only mean one thing! “I’m getting “Old” Of course we all get older, I just never saw it coming quite so fast. I have been visited by the wrinkle fairy already, and didn’t that come & slap me in the face lately! Late nights really don’t do me any favours.

Ok I’m not “Old” as such (Though I often feel it) and I’m guessing women older than me are going to be thinking, “Shut up, try being my age” once I say I’m 28! But really, how fast the years have passed, how life has changed, and how at times I still find myself dumbfound that the little blonde girl with bunches in her hair and little freckles across her nose, attended the very same primary school that two of her children do now, some seventeen years later! I never guessed my life would be the way it is today. It’s not a bad life and god I’m not complaining because I wouldn’t change a thing (Well maybe a few dodgy hair cuts & some pretty funky get up) I love what I have and I’m so lucky to have three beautiful children that though may keep me on my toes! But I’m still crazy in love with em.

Watching my little man blow out his candles, for a moment I forget the troubles we face, for a moment we are just an “everyday family!” This birthday little man spent it excluded from school (What a treat for a ten-year old.) That’s the thing you see! Exclusion is sometimes an escape, a means to get away from that stressful place, or simply a day off school. This is not just  the case for little man, children on the autistic spectrum, or those with special educational needs, but any child! After all who wants to be in school on their birthday? (Exclusion details? NO, not today, not this post, it’s meant to be a joyful post and what’s been happening isn’t joyful at all! So I will be sure to update in another post.)

So…. On with my happy post about a boy who loves buses having a whale of a time riding the big red beast while out birthday shopping with his dad.

Little man always has a birthday list as long as his arm, often consisting of wacky “odd” items. As this years was no exception, it was decided the boy could have a “little” cash (I say “little” as that’s what I keep telling myself in a bid to make myself feel better)

No, I’m messing of course I love that my little man spends his birthday wad on batteries, pad locks, and door bells! This year he spoke about wanting a trailer to attach to his bike. He said he had a plan to convert the trailer into a bus and ride everyone around in it.( I’m sure I mentioned it in the Big-B lead up) Before you all go “Lovely, that’s so sweet”  Like the true bus driver my little man would one day become, he said he would charge every one £2 each. “Oh yer that’s more like it!” Buses and Money is what it’s all about for my little man! Once upon a time, I did attempt to go for it and try to change this. However things didn’t go to plan…

.… I gave up on trying to push spiderman and transformers on him. He just doesn’t really like that sort of thing- in fact he don’t much like toys at all to be honest! ( well, apart from a few buses, trains and a dust cart he owns) His not much bothered about any of the must have’s (You know the top toys they discuss in the playground but saying that it’s rare he visits such a place to hear it.) One year I spent and inevitably wasted a good sum of money buying the latest toys that all the other children his age were raving about. Let’s just say that I learnt my lesson & learnt it well! Thankfully he didn’t do to badly this year and mummy (That’s me) was quite impressed with his choice of “oddness.”

  • Some sort of sign, like an LED display, that was long and slim (shocking I can’t quite believe I just said that, given how bad it sounds! He-he), It has a hidden keypad  in the base to type in messages that move across the screen. It’s basically the type of display that you see in shops, cinemas, above bus stops e.g… to advertise a product or screening. I guess its pretty much like the one below that I unearthed from Google, with the exception that Little mans LED display currently displays the numbers 181 followed by … Lewisham Via Grove park.

Well, what did I expect? As I told his father when they sat off “Let him get what he wants.” He brought himself a few other things (thank god, these “things” did not include a trailer) His father also brought him an Xbox 360. He goes through stages when it comes to a games console. He isn’t addicted with his hand stuck to the control like super, super glue. Wish I could say the same for his father🙂 However he was pleased and had a few friends play it with him.

Despite the current exclusion from school, It was a wonderful day. He had a few boys round from his class (Yes, his doing pretty well with the whole ” forming friendship” scenario) and we had Birthday cake (Yummy, chocolate cake😛 didn’t really fit the diet, but hay-ho ) Little man had a huge smile on his face and for once it was clear from his expression that he was feeling great…. (Sometimes I just don’t know what his feeling and lately his quite low and can be quite challenging.) Ok if you know my little man you will all know when little man is “On One”, (you know in one of those “moods”, the not so good ones!) It’s just so laborious to change. Its like his never going to pull himself out from wherever it is his gone. I don’t know where that place is, but when his gone there’s not much chance his returning (Well not for a few hours minimum.) There  just don’t seem to be an in between for little man. But today there was! He looked & acted liked a whole different child! No anger, challenging behaviours, swearing (Ok, Ok reduced swearing) it’s a start!  It was just magic.

As Little man lent forward to blow out his candles, I shouted “WAIT” in a panic! Anyone would have thought he was in some kind of danger. Everyone turn and looked at me as if to say, “what are you playing at woman?” Well, to me he was in danger! Yes, danger of making a big mistake… He was all set to blow out his candles but had he made a wish? “Every Birthday boy gets a wish” Before you could say another word little man shouted…. ” I wish I could go back to school on Monday and ask the French teacher on a date”

The whole room went silent, before breaking into total fits of laughter! And little man?……… Well, his still waiting for that date! 

7 Responses to “Birthday wishes”

  1. jeremyrawlings January 12, 2013 at 3:44 am #

    Wonderful story!

  2. Krista October 17, 2010 at 4:03 am #

    I love it!!! Happy Birthday!!! My son would totally love one of those signs too.

  3. 蛙鏡 October 16, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Who do I contact about buying some ad space on this site? Maybe like a banner on either the header or footer. Please let me know. Great site by the way. Thanks!

  4. Vostayn October 14, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    A year ago I was volunteering in a mental health center for children in a city called Haskovo in Bulgaria. That was where I met two boys with an autism spectrum disorder.
    I still can’t stop thinking about this

  5. Blue Sky October 13, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    Great news Claire! So glad he had a lovely birthday🙂

  6. Tilly October 12, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Ah, that’s just brilliant. Happy, happy birthday little man!


  1. Some inspirational links for your birthday cards | Birthday Wishes Quotes - January 12, 2013

    […] Birthday wishes « A boy with Asperger's – To say this is a belated birthday post is understatement! My little man, as of the first of October 2010 was one year older. Yes, his now into the double figures, where have the years gone?. This can only mean one thing! […]

Leave a Reply

