SCHOOLS REASONS FOR EXCLUSION OF ASPERGERS BOY

7 Mar

Exclusion did not go down well with my little man! I was worried that he was going to enjoy the time of a little too much but he was quite upset  that he was not allowed to attend. What was worse was his anger at the fact he was not allowed near the school on the day and a half that he was excluded. I had to find somebody to watch him when I took Alice to school which meant she was late.

When I took him back to school on the Friday we had to see the Headteacher before he would be allowed to go to his class with his peers. The head asked little man if he knew the reason for why he was excluded. With this little man replied YOU EXCLUDED ME YOU SHOULD KNOW! The head was not impressed with his answer. He asked again and little man replied with the same answer. The head then went on to say that maybe it wasn’t a great idea for him to join the class just yet. Hang on you can’t keep him away form lessons for reasons like this. You asked he answered!! God do you guys understand nothing about Aspergers. Once the meeting was done I went to meet with the school SENGO to discuss my ongoing concerns.  I felt we were not making too much process with this I took the copy of the IEP she had given me and left. On my way through the office the RUDE receptionist called after me and handed me a white envelope which contained the letter I had been waiting on. The reasons for little mans exclusion.

Taunting and provoking a child, Telling an adult to “fuck off”, Putting himself and others in danger, Running into the school kitchen, Causing significant disruption, Consistent refusal to respond to a range of adults including the Headteacher and the Deputy Headteacher, Running away from supervision.

A nice long list don’t you think. What made me laugh was finding out from his class teacher that the school had visitors on the Thursday he was excluded. Yes ofsted were in school doing their inspection. The last time they had been at the school little man had stood up and said something rude to them. My son has a thing about people with notepads and clipboards he always thinks they are there to assess him as he remembers the lady who observed him at school as part of his assessment for a diagnosis of Aspergers. He was not allowed to know they were coming so they could observe his normal school behavior but he spotted them a mile of and now understandably  he things everyone is observing him. I wish I could prove that ofsteds visit was part of their reason in deciding to exclude my son. Yes they will not admit this but I know it has a hell of a lot to do with it. I wish i could have them up on discrimination but again this seems like a losing battle.

I spoke to ACE regarding the right in excluding little man just for lunch breaks. To my horror they can do this. Each lunch break will however count as a half day exclusion and after 11 full days it has to be reviewed by the schools governing body. If I consider the school to be excluding him unfairly I can take it to the governing body after 5 days I would also need to seek advice on discrimination act.

5 Responses to “SCHOOLS REASONS FOR EXCLUSION OF ASPERGERS BOY”

  1. Carla April 7, 2010 at 1:25 am #

    I just wanna say I relate Claire and having spoke to you in the past few weeks I understand your fury. But I also see how strong you have become. I remember back when he smashed everything in the hours a few years back. He really did test things for a while. I remember you asking me through your tears what can you do. And remember what I said? Never give up. The people that turn their backs and refuse to help are not worth it. I remember you pinning him to the sofa to dress him and him wiggling like a worm. He also had a good punch. Now look he don’t hit you he dresses himself and his doing well as well as can be expected at home now. I will visit you soon babes. Missing you and the kids and really have to give that new baby a give. Will call you tomorrow.x

  2. janet March 23, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    I too am going through something similar with my asd little chap aged 12 now they are threatening permanent exclusion.

  3. Gaye D March 10, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    The more I read about little man the more I warm to him…and the more sneaking admiration I have for his wit too…

    You really do have your hands full with that school…

  4. Gavin Bollard March 9, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear about the issues you’re having at the school but you should be proud of little man for his reaction to exclusion.

    As an aspie, he’s going to find himself excluded for a great deal of his life. It’s good to know that he’s willing to stick up for himself in that regard.

    I’m not quite sure how you can get around the behavioural issues though. I can understand the problems of being a teacher and copping verbal abuse. Nobody should have to work under those conditions.

    I think the concept of IEP needs to be stressed here. Most people forget that the I stands for “Individualised”. This means that the IEP should be tailored to little man’s strengths and weaknesses. He should never be put in a situation where he feels that the behaviour you reported is his only available outlet.

  5. transitionalthoughts March 7, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    I cannot believe the CRAP you are going through with this utterly incompetent school. It makes me want to scream! There is no question in all your readers minds that OFSTED was the one of the reasons for convenient exclusion, too bad you probably won’t be able to prove it. As for the answer to the head teach: a perfect, logical and unknowinly witty Aspie answer. Anybody with a smidgin of ASD training would have realized that!

Leave a Reply

