3 Feb

Well the blog has been going for quite sometime now. In this time I have heard back from many other parents like myself with children on the autistic spectrum. It’s been a great way to bring us mums together and share our experiences. Some great comments have been posted, some interesting interviews taken place and I am pleased to say some great friends have  been made. When I started writing  A boy with Asperger’s back in October 2008 it was for many reasons. Raising awareness for a condition that was very close to my heart  was one of them. But I also had a great deal more to learn about it. I feel that as well as give something I gained so much more from writing this blog . It was a wonderful thing to have found and connected with so many others that like me were on a roller coaster of ups and downs when facing a world that so many other people were yet to understand. I guess I kind of made it my goal to raise awareness for ASD. My child and many others needed to be understood.  Even if the blog only reached a few people and them few gained a better understanding at least that was something. Well  I really can’t ask for better support with the blog . Over the last 16 months we have had huge numbers of readers and many other blogs and sites have linked up to us or added us to their listings. I really am grateful for this:)

Well It’s been sometime since the blog had a monthly feature. I was so busy with the pregnancy and stuff  that sadly the Big interview had to stop. I really do miss it! and for this reason have decided to bring something new to the readers.


The idea for the feature came to me when I was reading some of the many comments left on the blog by other parents. Each month I want to hear from a parent of a child on the spectrum this will be their chance to get heard and reach out to others and join me in raising awareness for Autism. Each month will have a topic of conversation. Like Sensory sensitivity, Obsessive interest, Autism at school and so on. So if you want to get heard and share your story with others then here is the place to do it.


This is our frist topic of conversation so if anyone is interested and wants to be our first mum to tell it like it is then waste no time in contacting me by leaving a comment with a contact email address. The big interview was a great feature that did fantastic and was a real hit. I’m sure if we all come together mums  tell it like it is will do just as well.

UPDATE 20-04-10

Sorry that the a bove feature did not go ahead as planed back in March. This sadly was due to a lack of time on my part. Little man was excluded three times that month so thinks were kinda hectic. Hoping to have the first part of this feature up and posted by the end of the month.

5 Responses to “MUM’S TELL IT LIKE IT IS.”

  1. bernie malone April 1, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    i had my story written i deleted it i dont know why but i did

  2. amgela dainty March 18, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    its a great idea,as parents of autistic children (i have a son with aspergers syndrome), we are pretty much given a diagmosis and left to cope which can be overwhelming. there are times of laughter,tears and guilt, sheer frustration and more laughter, trying to always understand is not easy but we get there and sometimes we fail but with others for support it would be easier.

  3. Rachel February 5, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    Hi there- only just discovered your blog. It really struck a chord with me what you said about wanting to raise awareness of autism as this is something I feel passionately about too- thats why I started my blog recently.

    I could yak til the cows come home about sensory issues for my 6yo daughter who has autism and would be happy to be one of the interviewees for your piece🙂

    I went to a really interesting course on it recently run by our local Contact a Family. I’ve read Out of Sync Child and thought I knew loads, but the OT they had was great and came up with loads of ideas. Unfortunately our borough won’t pay for autistic kids to have OT, so we have to figure it out for ourselves (like most things to do with autism!)

    Lovely Blog:)


  4. Jennifer Browning February 5, 2010 at 6:37 pm #


    I think what you are doing is great, and I’d love to be involved!
    I just (as of today) starting driving my son to school instead of putting him on the bus because of his sensory issues ( and a little bit because of bullying). The noise just created “maddness” for him (that’s how he described it).

    Let me know how I can be involved!

  5. accidental expert February 3, 2010 at 2:21 am #

    Right now we’re in the middle of a crisis, but I’d love to take you up on this at a later time. Great idea. Thanks for bringing everyone together.

Leave a Reply

