A new year a new decade

2 Jan

I remember writing my first post for this blog. Wow so much has changed  since then and  I must say  mostly for the better. Little man is growing to be a very smart and level-headed young man who really knows what he wants. I’m so very proud at the progress my son has and still is making. It really proves that life with Aspergers doesn’t have to be a bad thing! I have always stated that I would never change my son, Yes many things would be easier if Aspergers wasn’t in the frame but it is and always will be so it’s best to embrace it rather than hide it or try to run from it. I love my son and he amazes me  his intelligence is a great gift, His diffuseness is also in more ways than not a great thing. I feel that with each day that passes I learn a little more and understand a bit more about the way his mind works. Don’t get me wrong life is far from easy, Little man still has problems at school just different ones from before. At the start of last year it was hard to even get him to go to school and when he did he was nearly always late:( This was becoming a huge problem as it was also affecting his sisters schooling and I even had to attend court ( I’m still dealing with this today ) Now his going better his having more problems once there. It seems He is missing a lot of playtimes as he is not following instructions from playground stuff and at times can be rude when his angry about something. I even got a letter informing me he had kicked a door of its hings. We also still have the huge problem with him not eating his packed lunch no matter what I give him. With all this stuff and more the craziness is little man seems much better at home. His sleeping has improved with the help of his melatonin and with this his more relaxed. However his swearing is on the rise and I’m really not happy about that.

Little mans relationship with his sister is pretty much the same as before sadly his still having problems with hitting and I feel very sorry for her. He tries playing with her but his still very bossy and completely takes over the game. It’s all on his terms she becomes upset and this is when the fighting begins. His relationship with his new baby brother is somewhat different. Yes his a newborn so he can’t play with him but little man has shown him a very loving side in which he rarely  shares. He is very good with his brother and enjoys helping. He is showing so much love for him and expressing feelings that he sometimes finds hard to express. He said when holding Harley ( His brother ) That this was the best day of his life:) I had just given birth and hearing this I had tears in my eyes. It was magic.

Giovanni has also managed to form a strong friendship with another child that lives a few doors up. He shares many of little mans special interests like trains and buses.They also attend the same school so walk together in the morning. It’s just on the next street from our home so were fine with this. Little man seems much more happier to get up dressed and ready for school now🙂

2009 has had both it’s ups and downs. I’m Looking forward to seeing what both 2010 and the next decade will bring . With a new member of the family and little mans greater understanding of the world i’m sure it’s gonna be a good one.

3 Responses to “A new year a new decade”

  1. aspieluvr April 21, 2010 at 2:28 am #

    Loving the positive attitude here! This year has been a good year for my son as well. He is 12. Stop my blog, and take a peek at my son. He is my hero!

    Keep on keeping on.
    God bless,

  2. Self Esteem January 30, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    Great post! Thank you so much for all you do, i’ll keep reading.

  3. Accidental Expert January 9, 2010 at 3:35 am #

    So glad things are on the upswing. Here’s to more positives in 2010!

Leave a Reply

