6 Mar

This post may make you giggle

You see it did me, but it also made me turn a funny shade of red.

We went shopping on Wednesday evening ( brave given the trouble Little man gave me last time! Read my post what did you say about me mum? and you will understand where I’m coming from. Well yes we were shopping and yes yet again little man was not the most easiest child to shop with’ But I coped! G had his pocket-money with him, as did his sister Alice. As she browsed the toys little man strolled down the aisle putting milk, yogurt, toothpaste, mouthwash and other strange products into his trolley. Note when I say strange I mean strange items for a 8yr old boy to want to spend his pocket-money on! Don’t you agree.

The last item he got was a child’s bottle of bubble bath. He then lined up a the checkout beside the one I had chosen for us. He was going to pay his own shopping bill, then pack it away. G was acting the big man. Let me add something here. This was not play to him it was very much real. I sometimes feel that he forgets his 8. He is forever trying to get in on adult conversations, passing his views like it’s the norm for a child to do. The thing is he speaks like a little man ( That’s how the nickname come about ) When he does this to random people strangers in fact. They look at him in total disbelief. He knows mummy and daddy don’t want him talking to strangers but some how he just don’t allow himself not to talk to them so your forever on the run making sure his not starting conversations with random people. Has anybody seen Home alone the film? Well it’s a really well-known film so I guess you all have! Well G at the checkout reminds me of the scene when the little boy Kevin is in the supermarket doing the shopping. His all alone and when he gets to the checkout he comes across like a funny little man. His also 8 in the film. Well that’s just what it was like with G apart from he wasn’t really alone even though he acted this way and was asked a number of times where is your mum or dad?

I gave the checkout girl a wink! She either fault I was a lesbian or I was confirming little man was with me and yes he was for real! She smiled as she scanned the items of interest though the till.

” hey how are you this evening? “

“fine love fine but busy”

MY GOD LOVE!! Where that or any of it come from I was unsure. After all I’m just mum!

The girl let out a chuckle. G looked up as to say WHAT YOU DOING THAT FOR?

“So are you paying for your mummy’s shopping?”

Um no this is mine not my mothers shopping as you can see mum gets rubbish stuff that is no use to me”

Well I had to laugh and I know she did! I think everybody heard. She shook her head in total disbelief. And said where did you get him from? OH NO WRONG THING TO SAY! Just as this Thought hit my messy head out it come…

” What a silly thing to ask my mum! I come from inside her, I came from a egg implanted in mum that my dad helped to put there. And can I get on and pay now I’m a busy busy boy.

Well I laughed, she laughed, the supermarket laughed. But I also wanted the floor to grab me and suck me in so no one would see my strawberry red face that kind of felt like it was burning in flames.



  1. Drax March 15, 2009 at 1:03 pm #

    I love this!

    With being an Aspie myself I can relate to a lot of this. But I was never this vocal and I admire him for it. I took the other path where I would sit back and observe everyone else’s interactions. Even today I don’t really speak unless spoken to, and even then it’s still short straight-to-the-point responses. But if someone is deep in conversation, even if they are strangers on the street, I will listen-in intently. I guess I just felt too out-of-place with my ramblings and wanted to know how everyone else does it.

    In this post I really loved the detail of how when the girl chuckles at him he gives her a puzzling look. That really captured the moment for me.

  2. Kathleen Reeves March 11, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    I’m sorry but that whole thing just got me to giggling. He sounds exactly like my Paul, this is if he was Brittish. I remember that my sister gave him a bugcatcher for his birthday. He looked at her and said, “I need to go outside to find appropriate environment for the bugs’ habitat.” He was 5! Her mouth dropped open and had nothing to add but “Have fun then.”
    Never a dull day, is it?

  3. Tony March 7, 2009 at 7:13 pm #

    I bookmarked your blog, thanks for sharing this very interesting post

  4. Gina Harris March 6, 2009 at 11:40 pm #

    You gotta laugh. Better then sobbing. hehe,
    Well done for a ace blog

  5. leechbabe March 6, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    That is fantastic🙂 Love those moments where you are proud but red faced also.

    Saw this and thought of your little man and his love of transport –

Leave a Reply

