WHAT DID YOU SAY ABOUT ME MUM?

28 Feb

OMG WHAT A NIGHTMARE!

OK maybe I should be more careful when I say something while little man is about! But come on sometimes he will go right over the top. But that’s just G. Well today we were at the supermarket’ everything was going to plan. For once I felt that my head was working as it should be (before I become a busy mum ). I was remembering everything’ yes without a list! and little man was on good behaviour. Everything was going my way. Shopping complete I make my way over to the check out.

“MUM CAN WE GO TO THE DO IT YOURSELF CHECK OUT?”

“NO G I HAVE TO MUCH SHOPPING FOR THAT. THERE JUST FOR PEOPLE WITH TROLLY’S WE HAVE A BASKET”

For those of you that may not know what the hell I’m on about. The self pay check out means there are no stuff’ you beep it then pay it by putting your cash or card through a machine. But, Big but! When you have a lot of shopping you pay at the check out with the assistant. And yes I sure did have a lot of shopping!

So there I am unpacking the trolley onto the belt. G is helping, he likes to do this. But today his doing it with anger. His not at all happy as his upset at the fact that we are not using the self pay check out. His talking away to himself, well more along the lines of moaning to himself! I ask him whats up but he tells me to shut up! NICE!. The lady at the check over hears and ask him whats wrong. ” My mum is horrible and nasty she never lets us use the self check out”. ” That’s not a nice thing to say about your mum” she says. He looks up and simply says I don’t care. When G acts like this I always think god they must think i dragged him up. G can be rude but he can also be extremely polite. It’s what mood his in but I guess that’s all of us really. Well to an extent. She asked if G was often like this! I jokingly replied yep everyday. Next thing i know his screaming at me and marching of at full speed ( His fast ) Grabbing the bags ( All ten of them ) I sling them into the trolley and do what seems like a supermarket dash as i run after him having not a great deal of luck in catching him up.

“What up mate?”

“U told the lady u put up with it everyday”

“G I was just joking!”

“No mum you were talking about me!”

You see the littlest thing gets to him in away it would not most other children. We phone a cab and sat on the bench to wait for it to arrive. Little man had a face like thunder and sat right on the other end on the very edge of the bench. Any passers-by must have fault I had something catching’ that or I smelt bad! Well at least he wasn’t screaming at me in fact he was doing a wonderful job of not talking to me at all, that was to …………. The cab turned up.

“My mum told the cashier I was bad everyday!” He was blurting on to the driver.

“No that’s not what I meant G!

“That’s a lie mum I’m not bad everyday and you said you put up with it everyday!” He went on and on and on……

I’m sure the cab driver wanted to laugh but he dared. As we parked up and started to get out the car the cab driver said good luck. I think he knew I needed it, I sure did! G went on about the whole thing for a least another 5 hours. I wanted to whack my own head against a brick wall. God my head was ready to explode. When it did stop I was so grateful so very grateful.

THE WORD PEACE TO A MOTHER’ ANY MOTHER IS A FANTASTIC, STUNNING AND GOD-SENT WORD.

TO A MOTHER OF A CHILD ON THE SPECTRUM IS ONE OF THE ABOVE AND SO MUCH MORE BESIDES.

7 Responses to “WHAT DID YOU SAY ABOUT ME MUM?”

  1. Liza April 22, 2009 at 7:00 am #

    If you ever want to see a reader’s feedback 🙂 , I rate this post for 4/5. Detailed info, but I have to go to that damn yahoo to find the missed bits. Thank you, anyway!

  2. How to Get Your Ex Back April 9, 2009 at 9:40 pm #

    This is very up-to-date info. I think I’ll share it on Delicious.

  3. Heike March 3, 2009 at 6:44 am #

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Why this one-minute therapy is being suppressed in the U.S. while more than 15,000 European doctors have been using it to heal millions of patients

  4. xanthippa March 2, 2009 at 12:23 am #

    I understand.

    What I did in similar situations was to explain how parallel our behaviours really were: he said nasty things about ‘me’ to the cashier – and not totally true ones, as we do go to the self-check-out sometimes! But, he said we ‘never’ do! This made ‘me’ mad and I said he was ‘always’ like this!

    The ‘always’ I said was just as wrong as the ‘never’ he said!

    When put into this context, most ‘Aspies’ will not react immediately, but will think on it for a while. Learning to relate the two exaggerations to each other is essential for Aspies to learn how their behaviour impacts others.

    And, this ‘relating back’ is perhaps the only way they can get grasp of social rules – and to learn how to successfully integrate into society. Starting by asking him to explain to YOU just HOW made HIM feel when you said ‘ALWAYS’ – and tell him you felt the same way when he said ‘NEVER’ and all those nasty things about YOU!

    Remember, empathy is learned – and this ‘rule of reciprocity’ is an EXCELLENT way to teach empathy to kids in general, to Aspies in particular.

    Use these opportunities to their fullest potential!

  5. patientanonymous March 1, 2009 at 1:23 am #

    I know, know, know you are not to “give in” but if you have several hours…

    Make trips back and forth to the aisles with the maximum number of items allowed. Then cash out. Then run to the taxi. Tell the taxi driver to wait.

    Lather, rinse, repeat.

    Then quickly go both more insane and broke at the same time!

    Just kidding, of course.

    Didn’t know you were on Twitter so I just rang your bell. I am now “following you!” MWAH-HA-HA!

    Also, going to email you about a post I wrote. You might find it interesting–within a weird sort of context?

    Nonetheless, I have a bit of a hx. regarding my own “self-queries” about Asperger’s. Several people have not argued too much about it, however, I probably wouldn’t get a dx. Not that I care. Still, I could probably write you a fair bit about it from childhood onward?

  6. hbacmama February 28, 2009 at 11:18 pm #

    Mine has the knack to bring it up months later and go on for an even longer ‘rant’.
    ugh.
    sympathy on this one.
    On the other hand, today was the best day this week so far. woot.
    well, it is only dinner time, so… here is hoping it ends well in a few hours!
    😉

  7. didisignupforthis February 28, 2009 at 8:43 am #

    Hee hee I got a good chuckle reading this. Been there more than once with my boy. It’s amazing how they can make you feel like they sucked up half your bairn cells in the womb and now your never going to be as smart as them. 😉

Leave a Reply

