9 Feb

When i first heard that G was going to be assessed for ASD. I was both shocked and relived. If this is something you have just heard you maybe too. Once i had sorted everything out in my head the next step for me was to get educated on the subject and that’s what i did. I would advise anybody who has a newly diagnosed child of ASD or  those that think there  child could be on the spectrum should do this.

I found a great deal of information on the net. I also reed many books and spoke to other parents going though the same as me, my son and whole family. Once i started to research ASD i saw that things within the spectrum could be seen as gifts. There are many forms of autism some more high functioning then others. Aspergers is a condition on the higher end of the spectrum and Aspergers is the label given to G.

Once you know where your child is within the spectrum and you look at the reasons behind certain types of hard or unwanted behaviour you can then begin to avoid the upsets making your child’s life that little bit more easier. Ok not everything can be avoided certain sensory issues are hard to avoid but knowing what they are is a starting point. Lets not forget anybody within the spectrumof Autism sees the world some what differently from us.

There have been many times i have sat and cried but there are far more that i have smiled. When I’m on the net and i read forum post by parents of children with ASD and there so stressed angry and tired i think to myself that was me. Ok i’m not saying i never have them days anymore! I’m just saying it’s very rare i do. There is no cure for ASD i really don’t care what anybody has to say about that it’s just a fact’ But why would we want one anyway?

My point is before hearing your child had the condition they were the same child’ you loved them the same way you do now. The way i see it is your born with the condition the condition is what makes that child and your child is what makes the condition. If i asked for G not to have Aspergers that’s like me asking for a different child altogether. If you looked at us before and looked at us now! You would see how a understanding in Aspergers has helped in bringing me and my child so much closer. Don’t get me wrong we have always been close I’m close to both my children but G being close to me is different as it’s on his terms. Today it’s still on Giovanni’s terms but look and you will see he has opened up a little more as i understand him so much better.

My child is wonderful and yes my child has difficult times and yes he has at times got bad behaviour’ some non related to ASD as he is still human. But my child is who he is and i tell him never to be ashamed of that person.

Life doesn’t always have to be this hard there are many ways that we can make it easier for ourselves and children.

One Response to “LOOK AT US NOW!”

  1. leechbabe February 11, 2009 at 6:51 am #

    You express so well how I feel about my daughters diagnosis. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

