6 Feb

Well where should I start?
Let’s start with this morning! Woke little man and Alice up around 7.30am. Not to bad today he had a little moan but seemed to get up with little problem.
Alice she has never really had a problem with getting up’ even if she has had a late one. Im lucky there:)
Well getting to the point’ once we were about to leave the house little man announced that he had a upset tummy:( What this meant was G knew that he was going to need the toilet and as he was not able to go at that time he would soon need to go in school.
This is a worry to my son. G has a fear of toilet doors he becomes very anxious as he is scared the door may become locked. He has never been locked behide a door so it’s a fear that he has for his own reasons. The thing is G loves train and bus doors’ just not toilet doors. This is not the only problem he faces with toilets! When he needs to do a toilet (not a pee) He fells the need to remove all his clothing’ even socks
um you see the problem here?
Not the ideal place to strip. G is fine to pee so that’s aleast one thing. He has had one or two accidants (way back) but it seems he has trained his body to go as soon as his feet are through the door at 3.45pm. Everyday without fail!
So here I was facing a early morning problem when not yet awake:( Alice is sat waiting’ I’m sat waiting Little mans back in the toilet. Ten min later he returns having had no luck. ” Lets Go”
it’s almost 9am and yet again we are set to be late. “I’m scared mummy”
“What if I need to go?”
Now my issue here is the school have already been on my back about attendace and lateness ( They should try raising a child with ASD) So he needs to go!
As we walk along’ Alice not to pleased she is late I’m explaning to Little man that if he fells he really needs to go and just can’t face the toilet then tell the classroom teacher to send you to the office to see Carol. The ground is covered in thick ice! The snow has turned to water but The weather is so cold it’s become ice in a matter of hours. We are slipping all over the place’ I’m exhausted and Little man is not happy to say the least.
He thinks the school won’t understand! I can’t blame him as when have Giovanni’s school ever understood?
I reasure him the very best I can.

9.17am we are there’ school is to roads from our home but the ice made it seem like ten roads. We are 17 min late. Ok I can see your all thinking spit it out, get on with it. There is a point I’m slowly reaching! I just wanna make you guys know the full facts.

G stands at the office desk upset:(
Im upset as he is. And Alice well she is not to impressed at the lateness taking place. Carol asks him why his not happy? G looks at the floor!
I walk round and in a low voice explain what’s happening. “I really don’t have time for this”. Hang on am I hearing this right? “you have managed fine for ages now” Yes with not going! This isn’t a problem sorted! Her tone was out of line. As she took G of to the toilet I sat and fault Thanks a bunch G will not have faith in me next time. On her return I expressed how I felt but as G had said maybe they don’t fully understand. She informed me he had been’ I nodded knowing this was highly unlikely. 3.45pm he steps inside our house and dashs of like a dart. He held it all this time 6 long hours. Amazing giving the fact his had the tummy bug in recent weeks. My god he must of felt so uncomfotable! Again I fell let down, angry and disappointed. This is becoming a habbit and it’s begaining to ware me down.

3 Responses to “TOILET WARS”

  1. 30yo aspie-suspect guy February 17, 2009 at 12:05 am #

    Is this toilet thing typical with aspies? I’m not DXed, but thinking back of my roughly 18 years of school and university, I have not been to a school toilet more often than 5 to 8 times, in total! And I NEVER sat down.
    Strange thought that is, somehow.

  2. omahs February 7, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    Hmm, this is a delima. I think Sunshine may be on to something there. As for the school, good luck. There are many good principles and teachers out there, but there are those that just should not be in a school facility dealing with developmentally challenged children. I find that with my grandson. A couple of his teachers are none to kind. I understand their frustration, but they “chose” that position. If they can’t handle it, then get out of there and let someone who can, take over.
    Sorry, I don’t have much patience for that.
    My grandson had a toilet problem too, but not fear, instead, he loves to shoot it all over the place (althoug he’s getting better), and when he has to sit, he loves to put his hands back there while wiping and dig in.😦 Then of course he doesn’t like to wash his hands and smears it all over the place. So we now have to try and catch him going into the bathroom and watch him. He has gotten very sneaky. The sad thing is he puts his hands in his mouth all the time too.
    Believe me, my stomach churns often.
    I have a question for, and perhaps if I kept on reading, you may have covered this subject. How is he with eating? Does he have a hard time concentrating on what he is doing and makes a mess? I know you talked of the seperate silverware and touching of food, which we haven’t experienced yet. But he gets his food everywhere and makes a huge mess. It’s very frustrating. I’ve been working with him, but it all comes undone when he’s not with us, and we don’t have him that often lately.

  3. Sunshine February 6, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    I know this is going to sound a bit tedious, but are you busy during the day? Maybe if for a while he could have them call you and YOU go with him to the bathroom so that he can get to feeling safe at some point? I’d also have a talk w/whoever is above Carol. Let them know the damage that has been done, that you’re none too grateful for it, and what do they plan to do to rectify it for the future. That’s off the top of my head. Hugs to you mum!🙂

Leave a Reply

