Dont judge Aspergers parent’s

20 Dec

I  don’t care anymore what other people think!

I have wasted so much time worrying what other people think of my parenting. It used to bother me so much when i was out with my son Giovanni’ and people would pass comment if he was acting in away in which they didn’t understand.  I would fell the need to explain his condition. Some people were nice and more understanding’ then there were the others that would fell the need to tell me that it’s a load off nonsenses. They were the people that upset me. Most telling me that some good old fashion punishment was what he needed. I wanted to educate the world. My son’s school was no better. I was having trouble with him in the morning’s having only a few hours if not any sleep the night before i was really struggling to get him up and ready. Most days he would refuse to wear the clothing i had provided him with. I now understand why this is but at the time i was in need of some help. I had yet to be referred to Kaledoscope so it was a very tyring time. I found my son’s school no help and two years on this is still a on going problem. Now when ever i hear someone say something about Giovanni i just walk away. It’s took a long time to be able to achieve this but i don’t want to waste any more time. Time that is better spent on Giovanni and his little sister Alice. I know I’m a good mother that loves her children more then anything. And maybe next time you see a parent who is having a little trouble with her child you will THINK  before you pass judgement. It’s hard enough being a parent. But being a parent of a child with ASD is some what harder.

4 Responses to “Dont judge Aspergers parent’s”

  1. Gina Harris February 3, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Well said. The children are what matter so let’s not waste anymore time on the judgemental so and so’s.

  2. Melissa January 5, 2009 at 8:28 pm #

    Agreed! My son is 6, we’re still in that stage but a lot less so than in the beginning. There are those times though when you feel like choking neurotypicals, lol🙂

  3. Stimey December 21, 2008 at 3:22 pm #

    Amen, sister! Good for you!

  4. Frank Gustafson December 21, 2008 at 3:06 pm #

    Well put. We have a son, now 18, with Aspergers. In the early years we felt the same as you. As time passed we focused less and less on the reaction of others. The way I see it, with a diagnostic rate of 1 in 150… we need to focus more on the kids and helping them deal with life, than worrying about some judgmental
    “perfect” parent.

    Stay strong!!

Leave a Reply

