Time to tell

14 Dec

Has it reached that time when you have to tell your child that they have Aspergers? It’s a hard and upsetting task as me and my husband found out. Our son Giovanni took the news very well. He asked many questions (he needs all the facts) we answered them the best we could. I said mummy and daddy love you just the way you are. You have Aspergers but that doesn’t change a thing. As you are you. You are Giovanni Sarcone;)
When looking on the net for Advice I came across a fantastic blog. http://ramblingsofafrazzledmom.blogspot.com within this blog I discovered a post that was very moving but enjoyable to read this is the post that helped me when it was time to tell. Maybe it could help you too?
Super blog that I will visit again:)

2 Responses to “Time to tell”

  1. Ahmnodt Heare December 15, 2008 at 4:43 pm #

    I am somebody who has had Asperger’s since birth, but was diagnosed until I turned 43. I recommend three things: 1)Tell him 2)Support him and 3) Celebrate him. Asperger’s is not the worst thing to be diagnosed with. Fortunately, it does not appear to be a degenerative disease and many symptoms can be treated with proper training.

  2. acollage December 15, 2008 at 12:49 am #

    We’ve wondered a few times when it will be appropriate to tell our ds about his autism. Right now, we just tell him he’s ‘high maintenance.’ That helps give him a way to understand that he’s different, but without knowing a label as he’s so young, I’m afraid he’ll try to use it as an excuse. At just-turned-8, I think it’s too young but I do hope that when we tell him, he takes it well too!

Leave a Reply

