14 Oct

How many people in this world can tell us what the word Asperger’s means ? It’s shocking that despite the high percentage  of people now diagnosed as having ASD, It’s still not known or it’s just greatly misunderstood!

ASD stands for Autism Spectrum Disorder. Asperger’s is a high functioning form of Autism that is on that very spectrum. Being a mother of three beautiful fantastic children one in which has been diagnosed as having Aspergers is an amazing experience for me. I love being a mum and feel it to be my life’s purpose! This blog has been created as place I can express myself, Get heard, raise awareness, stress rant and rave ( some of the time🙂 ) But most importantly a place for me to share this amazing boy who has this gift, The boy I’m so proud to call my son! Having a child with Asperger’s or ASD doesn’t mean the end of the world! Far from it! God it can be hard and at times you feel like screaming but it’s also incredibly rewarding. ASD is not an illness but a condition. If you look for a cure I’m sorry but I don’t believe you will find one. My advise to you would be embrace and love your child. Aspergers can be seen as a gift! There will be many battles to fight and problems to resolve but there will also be many times that your Aspie child makes you catch your breath as your heart melts with pride. That I promise you.

By writing this I’m reaching out to other parents and careers of Autistic children. Lets share and advise one another. Let’s keep talking! By doing so we create awareness. If we are not the voices of our children who else will be ?


This post was updated on the 8th April 2010. This update included a name change and new image.
Glitter Graphics


  1. Tom April 2, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    My 7 year old has Asperger’s, I agree with you in that people don’t know what the heck it is! Its like telling people he has a strange african jungle illness! Keep spreading the word, great blog!
    Adventures In Asperger’s!

  2. CaRRiE January 14, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    So true my dear🙂 I enjoyed reading this as it is the way I feel about my 2 children.

  3. Mr.Millionaire August 2, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    It’s very interesting.

  4. Medical Transcription Services July 11, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    Interesting post…
    Thank you for the post..

  5. fiona2107 May 27, 2010 at 2:21 am #

    10/10 blog.
    I agree with ALL of it!

  6. Adoption of Jane March 27, 2010 at 3:31 am #

    Feel free to link this up to my Weekend Warriors Special Needs Post…. I take the pledge daily! Thanks for such an awesome read!

  7. asp-super-MOM! February 27, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Gosh I am just so happy to find this site. When I have contained myself I will make positive contibution. Maybe after I have made another 6 daily routine charts or given my son an explanation for the xxxxnth time!

  8. Shivon February 8, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    I am very happy that you commented on min andthat I have been able to find your blog! I would be honored if you would put me on your blogroll🙂 and I will find you on faceboook!! Take care

  9. Virginia February 5, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    I too have an Asperger blog. Please keep writing! 🙂

  10. shabanaali February 3, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    hello dear ,thanks a lot for such a great blog ,i really dont know what does mean Asperger and what kind of problem it cause but i respect your strength and love for your child that is what motherhood all about ,i am here to say thanks for your beautiful words in review have a wonder ful life dear god bless you

  11. Accidental Expert December 12, 2009 at 4:45 am #

    You keep talking. And talking. And talking.

    The world needs so much more awareness about Asperger’s and Autism.

    I’m the mom of an 11 yr old with Asperger’s and I’m always amazed at the ignorance out there.

    Just found your blog. Great stuff!

  12. Alif August 2, 2009 at 11:02 pm #


  13. Sssaam July 7, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    Wow, tremendous blog. I think your opinions are completely true. I, myself, do not know much about this disease but I feel if I regularly visit this blog, I will be able to obtain knowledge of it. Great post, great page, great blog. Thank you.

    The Panic Button
    Keep it real.

  14. kwangkxz July 3, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    Nice article to read, thanks for share.

  15. Alex June 5, 2009 at 8:23 pm #

    What you said about Aspergers is very true. I have known a deaf reseacher named Stephen McCullough from Salk Institute. For those who are curious about his work, he can be found by googling llcn and his name. He seems to be doing well as a researcher, but struggles socially. People are unsure how to relate to him because he does not answer questions properly or share anything about himself. AD does not mean they can’t have decent jobs.

  16. A Modern Mother May 4, 2009 at 6:31 am #

    Not sure if you are still updating …

    Highlighting your blog on mummy bloggers this week

  17. Kimmy April 20, 2009 at 7:46 pm #

    Thank you for adding me to your contact list. I am so glad I joined your communities especially this one. You are such a loving and patient Mother–your children are blessed to have you and vice versa. I love your strength and know you’ll triumph over any adversities that may come your way.
    Hang in there…you’re such a strong person.🙂

  18. Danette April 13, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    Hi Claire – thanks for sharing your link and for sharing your story here.🙂

  19. Oneshare April 4, 2009 at 12:53 pm #

    nice blog & very informative, i’m bookmarking this blog & visiting again for updates.

    please check mine too : FREE Comics Download

  20. Casdok March 31, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

    Love your glitter graphics!!

  21. Free css templates March 30, 2009 at 3:18 pm #

    Really awesome blog. I enjoyed reading this review from you. I found that you really update your site regularly that made me more interesting. I’ve bookmarked your site for my future use.

    Thank you

  22. fleurgrier March 26, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    Great to know I am not alone

  23. Crystal Jigsaw March 21, 2009 at 3:47 pm #

    I know it is terribly daunting to get the diagnosis but it has to be looked at as a way forward. A way to access necessary support in school and at home. A way to learn about your child, about his/her traits. And a way to realise that you now face the biggest challenge of your life, and believe you me, there might be a few battles along the way but it’s more rewarding than you could ever believe.

    Always here for advice and support – I’ve been living with my daughter’s autism for the past 6 years. She has lived with it all her life.

    Crystal xx

  24. Marissa March 20, 2009 at 9:29 am #

    I have taken time to read your blog, and I think it is great what you are doing and raising awareness of this condition. I never new this condition existed until I started my college course into Learning support. Keep the blog going as it is very imformative to other parents who have children with aspergers. I did read a book which was wrote by a child with aspergers it was called Freak Geeks and Aspergers. It was great book to read and was first hand from a child living with the condition.

    Best of luck to you and your family xx

  25. fraggle March 17, 2009 at 7:48 pm #

    Thanks for your comment on my blog I’ll add you too my blogroll so I can get some insight into aspergers,I’m a single mom my daughter who is 17 has epilepsy, my 11yr old son has dyslexia,dyspraxia and microcephaly (which hardly anyone has ever heard of so support is non exsistent) and youngest son just turned two has uncontrolled epilepsy and autistic traits.x

  26. Maddy March 16, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    That certainly is an eye grabbing graphic. Glad to make our acquaintance.

  27. Kathleen Reeves March 11, 2009 at 7:56 pm #

    I’m so glad that you found my new blog. I just put it up yesterday, too. This way…I found my way over to yours, which is great!
    I know that my family is not the only one with an aspie kiddo, but it sure is nice to have an accepting place to share. By the way, I just love that you’re Brittish, too. I feel like I have a new friend from across the pond.
    Adding to Petuala’s response, my son’s neurologist said that Grisholm on CSI and Agent Reed on Criminal Minds are both asperger characters. It’s what makes them so smart (and in Reed’s case so socially awkward).

  28. danielb1234 March 8, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

    Thanks for your kind comments! You’ve inspired me to make some more videos of the practices used to help Henry.

    Keep and eye out for the next one!

    ps Your blog is great, and its put me on to a whole new set of resources I hadn’t found before.

  29. junior will February 25, 2009 at 7:07 pm #

    god bless you all you are an inspiration to us all i just had to revisit your site we all love and pray thank you for sharing

  30. omahs February 25, 2009 at 6:31 am #

    Hi Claire, Thanks for your comment. My grandson is heading into some very trying times. Lot’s of frustration, but patience I didn’t know I even had.😉 He has gotten a lot worse. And from everything I’ve viewed lately, I wonder if he’s been correctly diagnosed. He will be starting a new program soon. It’s called a new leaf. A man who’s son has Aspergers started it and now they are all over. When his son was diagnosed, there was nothing available. So he decided to start program to help other children with it. Thank heavens. Sure hope it helps him. Meanwhile, we try to be patient, show him lots of love and at the same time, show him that he still needs to do as he’s told. There are times that it is very hard to get him settled down. I’m hoping to find something that will work with families in learning about the disorder and will show us what we can be doing as well. But, I’ve got hope and pray that someday he can start to lead a decent life. For now, he butts heads with society and family that just doesn’t understand.😦 Hopefully they will all find the patience he needs. Thank you for inquiring. And thank you for your blog. Hope all is going well for you and your son.

  31. Petula February 16, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

    I was very intrigued and delighted when I clicked through to your blog from LinkReferral. Asperger’s really interests me. I first learned of it while watching America’s Next Top Model… I’d never heard of that before and looked it up on the Internet. The model on the show who had it did wonderfully and I could see what a great person she was who was tackling her disorder (hope that’s the right word) head on.

    Now on Grey’s Anatomy there’s a doctor that has Asperger’s. I think it’s amazing how there are shows and things out there that positively represent all children.

    It’s good that you’ve developed this blog to discuss Asperger’s and get share what’s going on. The blogging/journaling is a great release. You sound like a wonderful mother. I hope that things continue to improve for your son and you get all of the help you need.

  32. decwrites February 15, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    Hi, I’m the writer/Aspie whose blog you recently commented on (thank you, btw)…and a total newbie. Is it okay for me to link to this page from mine?

    Also as an “adult” Aspie, I would very much and very sincerely like to wish you and your Aspie son all the best this life has to offer. We can be hard to deal with, I know, but I’d like to note that we do appreciate the affection, love, and help, even if we can’t always show it.

    So, I love your page, and hope you keep up the good work.

    P.S. What is the protocol on more intimate questions or communications. I have a nephew, 12, and a godson, 5, who are also Aspies and I could use advice.

  33. dejavouz February 15, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    Hey… you must be very proud of you’re children. You should be because they have brilliant minds.

  34. Jenn February 13, 2009 at 8:44 pm #

    Hi there,

    Glad you stopped by my blog! I look forward to reading more about your family.

  35. Holly February 4, 2009 at 12:43 am #

    I hope it is ok, but I added you to my blogroll on my blog-Single Mother of Autism. If you would like to be removed please let me know.

  36. Bonnie Sayers February 4, 2009 at 12:32 am #

    I like the pics and great positive approach to parenting kids on the spectrum. I will have to look at your videos when time permits.

  37. Kim Dean February 3, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    Words well said. I write my blog for the same exact reason. I love brutal honesty. Are kids are great and they need to be appreciated more for their wonderful unique gifts.
    always keeping an open mind, and an open heart!

    “For success in science and art a dash of Autism is Essential” Hans Asperger

  38. Melissa February 3, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

    What a wonderful job you have done on your blog, and what a great job you are going spreading the word.

    I would like you to know that I have awarded you THE LEMONADE AWARD. Please stop by my place ( to pick it up.

    Congratulations, and keep up the great work!

  39. pehpot February 3, 2009 at 8:55 am #

    Very nice of you to bring life to this blog. It could bring awareness and builds confidence and really helps a lot of mom. kudos!

  40. alexshouz January 6, 2009 at 5:48 am #

    hey you commented earlier on my blog. Actually that blog isn’t used that much. The ones I operate and run are or They aren’t exactly autistic themed but every now and then I do talk about it and I myself am a 24 year old college student with Aspergers syndrome so feel free to add my boxothought sites to your blogroll and I will add you to mine. Thanks again Claire.

    P.S: write back if you want.

  41. hopingnotcoping January 6, 2009 at 2:17 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Cool to hear from someone “across the pond”! I’m glad you’ve been able to find out more about your son, and also to share your adventures. I can tell you that blogging is very cathartic. You will enjoy it, and even find out things from others that will be very helpful and affirming. I know I have!

  42. insertcoolblognamehere December 17, 2008 at 5:37 pm #

    Hi there

    Thank you so much for your comments on my blog and for reaching out to the mother of a newly diagnosed Aspergers child who is feeling very lost right now with all this new information. My son Dylan is 12 now so we have had a late diagnosis. I have been having a read through your blog and I can see lots of things that stand out to me and hear myself saying “yes, Dylan does that too” so its quite a relief to know that there are others out there dealing with the same issues. My blog will now be veering more towards Aspergers and hopefully together with others who have Aspergers children we can reach out and hopefully make a difference to someone. I look forward to reading more from you in the future.


  43. Araldia December 13, 2008 at 11:55 am #

    Keep up the blog.
    As an Aspergers adult, and mother of 1 Aspie, 1 ADHD, 1 APD, and wife to ADHD husband, you are not alone🙂
    My son Daniel is about the same age as your Giovanni, and I would be happy to help share anything with you that may help.
    I appreciate your comments on my blog, and hope that my graduation may help inspire your boy🙂

Leave a Reply

